H’w’d fest fetes Keaton

Thesp to receive career achievement award

The Hollywood Film Festival’s board of advisers has chosen Diane Keaton for its career achievement award and Sam Mendes for its director of the year kudo.

Boards also named the cast of Lions Gate’s “Crash” for ensemble acting. The laurels will be bestowed at the festival’s awards ceremony Oct. 24 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

Keaton will soon be seen in Fox 2000’s “The Family Stone.” She won an Academy Award for her role in “Annie Hall” and was nominated for “Reds,” “Marvin’s Room” and “Something’s Gotta Give.”

Mendes is the director of Universal’s upcoming “Jarhead” and won the Oscar for directing “American Beauty.”

The cast of “Crash” includes Sandra Bullock, Don Cheadle, Matt Dillon, Jennifer Esposito, William Fichtner, Brendan Fraser, Terrence Howard, Chris “Ludacris” Bridges, Thandie Newton, Ryan Phillippe, Larenz Tate and Michael Pena.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety