World Brief

The Alliance of Canadian Cinema, Television and Radio Artists has elected Wayne Nicklas as VP and Ferne Downey as treasurer.

The two also belong to the executive board, elected every two years. The others are Rob Morton, Linda Kupecek, Richard Hardacre, Tyrone Benskin and Ruth Lawrence.

Thor Bishopric is prexy of ACTRA, which reps 21,000 performers across Canada.

In addition to bargaining and administering collective agreements, the executive board takes on public policy issues such as the crisis in English-language Canadian TV drama, restoring funding to the Canadian Television fund and, according to an ACTRA release, “the looming menace of foreign ownership.”

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0