‘Frozen,’ ‘Valhalla’ lead Lortels pack

'Bug,' 'Caroline,' 'Tragedy' follow with 5 noms apiece

This article was updated on Apr. 8, 2004.

See nominees

Bryony Lavery’s “Frozen” and Paul Rudnick’s “Valhalla” are among the top contenders for Lucille Lortel Awards for the 2003-04 season. The serial killer drama and the gay history comedy received six nominations each.

The nods honor achievement in Off Broadway theater. They are produced by the League of Off Broadway Theaters and Producers by special arrangement with the Lucille Lortel Foundation.

“Bug,” “Caroline, or Change” and “Small Tragedy” garnered five nominations each. Doug Wright’s Pulitzer Prize-winning “I Am My Own Wife” is a contender in a new category for outstanding solo show. It received a total of four noms.

The new solo award will go to playwright, performer and producer. As a result, solo shows are not eligible in the actor and actress, musical and play categories, although they were considered for other awards. Other nominees for the solo award are Sarah Jones’ “Bridge and Tunnel” and “Women on Fire.”

Best play contenders are Tracy Letts’ “Bug,” “Frozen,” Craig Lucas’ “Small Tragedy,” Paula Vogel’s “The Long Christmas Ride Home” and “Valhalla.”

There are just three nominees in the musical category: “Caroline, or Change,” “Johnny Guitar” and “The Musical of Musicals.”

The committee voted to give no award in the revival category this season.

Actress Kathleen Chalfant, who appeared in no less than three Off Broadway productions during the season under consideration (“Talking Heads,” “Savannah Bay,” “The Last Letter”), will be given this year’s Edith Oliver Award for Sustained Excellence.

The award for outstanding body of work goes to the Public Theater.

Winners will be unveiled at the May 3 awards ceremony at the Minetta Lane Theater. Ceremony will also include the induction of Tony Kushner in the “playwrights’ sidewalk” outside the Lortel Theater in Greenwich Village.

And the nominees are…

“Bug,” by Tracy Letts, produced by Scott Morfee, Amy Danis and Mark Johannes
“Frozen,” by Bryony Lavery, produced by MCC Theater
“Small Tragedy,” by Craig Lucas, produced by Playwrights Horizons
“The Long Christmas Ride Home,” by Paula Vogel, produced by Vineyard Theater
“Valhalla,” by Paul Rudnick, produced by New York Theater Workshop

“Caroline, or Change,” book and lyrics by Tony Kushner, music by Jeanine Tesori, produced by the Public Theater
“Johnny Guitar,” lyrics by Joel Higgins, music by Martin Silvestri, book by Nicholas Van Hoogstraten, produced by Definie Maybe Prods. and Mark Kress, in association with Victoria Lang and Pier Paolo Piccoli and the Century Center for the Performing Arts
“The Musical of Musicals,” music by Eric Rockwell, lyrics by Joanne Bogart, book by Rockwell and Bogart, produced by the York Theater Co.

Peter Frechette, “Valhalla”
Brian F. O’Byrne, “Frozen”
Lee Pace, “Small Tragedy”
Michael Shannon, “Bug”
Richard Thomas, “The Stendhal Syndrome”

Lisa Emery, “Iron”
Jayne Houdyshell, “Well”
Swoosie Kurtz, “Frozen”
Zilah Mendoza, “Living Out”
Tonya Pinkins, “Caroline, or Change”

“I Am My Own Wife,” by Doug Wright, starring Jefferson Mays, produced by Playwrights Horizons
“Sarah Jones: Bridge and Tunnel,” written by and starring Sarah Jones, produced by Meryl Streep and the Culture Project
“Women on Fire,” written by Irene O’Garden, starring Judith Ivey and produced by Cherry Lane Theater

Christopher Ashley, “Valhalla”
Mark Brokaw, “The Long Christmas Ride Home”
Dexter Bullard, “Bug”
Doug Hughes, “Frozen”
Moises Kaufman, “I Am My Own Wife”

Rob Campbell, “Small Tragedy”
Daniel Eric Gold, “Small Tragedy”
Gordon MacDonald, “Trumbo”
Will McCormack, “The Long Christmas Ride Home”
Mark Rosenthal, “The Moonlight Room”

Liza Colon-Zayas, “Living Out”
Kathryn Layng, “The Moonlight Room”
Laila Robins, “Frozen”
Anika Noni Rose, “Caroline, or Change”
Margaret Welsh, “Big Bill”

Hope Clarke, “Caroline, or Change”
Martin Santangelo, “Noche Flamenca”
Daniel Pelzig, “Valhalla”

Scott Bradley, “The Notebooks of Leonardo Da Vinci”
Tim Hatley, “Humble Boy”
Derek McLane, “I Am My Own Wife”
Ajene D. Washington, “American Menu”

Linda Cho, “The Two Noble Kinsmen”
William Ivey Long, “Valhalla”
Paul Tazewell, “Caroline, or Change”
Kaye Voyce, “Johnny Guitar”
Catherine Zuber, “The Beard of Avon”

Christopher Akerlind, “Well”
David Lander, “I Am My Own Wife”
Tyler Micoleau, “Bug”
Kenneth Posner, “Valhalla”
Clifton Taylor, “Frozen”

John Gromada, “Small Tragedy”
Robert Kaplowitz, “The Story”
Brian Ronan, “Bug”
David Van Tieghem, “The Long Christmas Ride Home”

Kathleen Chalfant

Public Theater

“Noche Flamenca”

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Legit News from Variety