Workshops are mentored by film music professionals

The Sundance Institute has selected the six participants for the seventh annual Sundance Institute Composers Lab.

Lab fellows announced Tuesday are: Peter Fitzpatrick, a member of the band Clem Snide; Aiko Fukushima; Joseph Julian Gonzalez (“Resurrection Blvd.”); Gary Louris of the rock band the Jayhawks; Middle Eastern percussion specialist Raz Mesinai; and Michael Torke, who composed a millennium symphony commissioned by the Walt Disney Co.

Beginning July 20, the two-week lab consists of workshops and creative exercises where participants are mentored by film music professionals.

This year, creative advisers include composers Jeff Beal (“Pollock”), Camara Kambon (“Citizen King”), Rolfe Kent (“Mean Girls”), Thomas Newman (“American Beauty”) and Ed Shearmur (“Charlie’s Angeles”). Kambon is a former fellow.

In addition, composers John Adams (“El Nino,” “The Death of Klinghoffer”) and Osvaldo Golijov (“La Pasion Segun San Marcos”) will join the lab’s group of creative advisers.

Lab participants also will collaborate with filmmakers from the Sundance Institute’s Feature Film Program to explore the process of writing music for film and create accompanying scores for scenes shot by the filmmakers.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0