H’wood fest kudos to ‘9/11’

Moore's doc selected at Movie of the Year

The 8th Annual Hollywood Film Festival tapped Michael Moore’s “Fahrenheit 9/11,” “The Motorcycle Diaries” and “The Sea Inside” for major awards.

“Fahrenheit 9/11” was selected as Hollywood Movie of the Year via public voting over “The Bourne Supremacy,” “Collateral,” “Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind,” “Hero,” “The Motorcycle Diaries,” “Napoleon Dynamite,” “The Passion of the Christ,” “Shrek 2” and “Spider-Man 2.”

The festival presented the Hollywood World Award to Walter Salles’ “The Motorcycle Diaries” and the Hollywood European Award to “The Sea Inside” by Alejandro Amenabar.

The winners of the Hollywood Discovery Awards competition were “Vinzent” by Ayassi as best feature, “What Remains of Us” by Francois Prevost and Hugo Latulippe as best documentary, and “Automation” by Todd Albright as best short.

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety