Par vote goes to ‘President’

Adaptation centers on fowl poking fun at politics

Paramount Pictures and Nickelodeon Movies have endorsed “Duck for President.”

Studio and shingle have jointly optioned the book from Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing. “Duck” is the third installment in the series by author Doreen Cronin and illustrator Betsy Lewin following New York Times bestsellers “Click, Clack, Moo: Cows That Type” and “Giggle, Giggle, Quack.”

“Duck for President” arrived in stores on Super Tuesday, March 2, with a first printing of 250,000 copies. It reached No. 2 on the Times bestseller list before hitting the top spot the following week.

Story follows a duck who tires of doing chores on the farm, organizes an election and defeats Farmer Brown by one vote. After he realizes that running a farm is no fun, he runs for governor, wins, makes the same discovery about the lack of fun and then runs for president.

Nick Movies senior VP Julia Pistor said “Duck” will poke fun at politics in the vein of “Dave” and “Wag the Dog.” She added that the project fits with Nick’s strategy of acquiring popular children’s books to develop into event movies such as “Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events,” starring Jim Carrey and due out at Christmas.

It’s not clear at this point whether the film will be live action or animated.

Paramount, Nick and Simon & Schuster are all Viacom subsidiaries. Nick VP of development Damon Ross brought the project in and will supervise with Pistor.

More Film

  • Oscars: Best Actress Race Packed With

    Oscars: Trying to Unpack a Stacked Lead Actress Field

    Paramount Pictures and Nickelodeon Movies have endorsed “Duck for President.” Studio and shingle have jointly optioned the book from Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing. “Duck” is the third installment in the series by author Doreen Cronin and illustrator Betsy Lewin following New York Times bestsellers “Click, Clack, Moo: Cows That Type” and “Giggle, Giggle, Quack.” […]

  • Progression Image 3 of 3: Final

    Box Office: 'Coco' Battling 'Justice League' for Top Thanksgiving Spot

    Paramount Pictures and Nickelodeon Movies have endorsed “Duck for President.” Studio and shingle have jointly optioned the book from Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing. “Duck” is the third installment in the series by author Doreen Cronin and illustrator Betsy Lewin following New York Times bestsellers “Click, Clack, Moo: Cows That Type” and “Giggle, Giggle, Quack.” […]

  • Harvey Weinstein Bob Weinstein

    Bob Weinstein Personally Paid Off Two of Harvey’s Accusers in 1990s, According to New Yorker

    Paramount Pictures and Nickelodeon Movies have endorsed “Duck for President.” Studio and shingle have jointly optioned the book from Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing. “Duck” is the third installment in the series by author Doreen Cronin and illustrator Betsy Lewin following New York Times bestsellers “Click, Clack, Moo: Cows That Type” and “Giggle, Giggle, Quack.” […]

  • Wang Jianlin Wanda

    Wanda-Sony Pictures Financing Deal Is Over

    Paramount Pictures and Nickelodeon Movies have endorsed “Duck for President.” Studio and shingle have jointly optioned the book from Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing. “Duck” is the third installment in the series by author Doreen Cronin and illustrator Betsy Lewin following New York Times bestsellers “Click, Clack, Moo: Cows That Type” and “Giggle, Giggle, Quack.” […]

  • Harvey Weinstein

    Female-Led Investor Groups Target Weinstein Co. Acquisition

    Paramount Pictures and Nickelodeon Movies have endorsed “Duck for President.” Studio and shingle have jointly optioned the book from Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing. “Duck” is the third installment in the series by author Doreen Cronin and illustrator Betsy Lewin following New York Times bestsellers “Click, Clack, Moo: Cows That Type” and “Giggle, Giggle, Quack.” […]

  • Escape a la India

    Ventana Sur: 'Escape to India,' 'Noah's Ark,' 'Inzomnia' Among Projects at Animation!

    Paramount Pictures and Nickelodeon Movies have endorsed “Duck for President.” Studio and shingle have jointly optioned the book from Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing. “Duck” is the third installment in the series by author Doreen Cronin and illustrator Betsy Lewin following New York Times bestsellers “Click, Clack, Moo: Cows That Type” and “Giggle, Giggle, Quack.” […]

  • Director Brillante Mendoza poses for photographers

    Brillante Mendoza to Head Jury at Malaysia Festival

    Paramount Pictures and Nickelodeon Movies have endorsed “Duck for President.” Studio and shingle have jointly optioned the book from Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing. “Duck” is the third installment in the series by author Doreen Cronin and illustrator Betsy Lewin following New York Times bestsellers “Click, Clack, Moo: Cows That Type” and “Giggle, Giggle, Quack.” […]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content