TV quintet set for ATAS hall

Barker, Couric among candidates to be recognized

HOLLYWOOD — Bob Barker, Art Carney, Katie Couric, Dan Rather and Brandon Tartikoff have been selected as this year’s inductees to the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences Hall of Fame.

“‘The ATAS Hall of Fame is a special place reserved only for those who have made significant contributions that will leave an indelible mark on the television business,” said Acad chairman Dick Askin in a statement. “It is an honor to recognize their individual careers and we are pleased to formally welcome them into our Hall of Fame.”

The Academy’s board of governors nominates candidates for the Hall of Fame before the finalists are chosen by a committee of industry pros. This year’s selection committee was chaired by Sam Haskell, exec VP and worldwide head of Television for the William Morris Agency. Committee members included Leslie Moonves, Peter Roth, Ethel Winant, Tom Del Ruth and Dawn Ostroff.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More TV News from Variety