MTV Latam toasts Molotov

Group nabs 4 kudos including alternative artist, video

MIAMI — Mexican punk rocker group Molotov was the top winner at the second annual MTV Video Music Awards Latin America Thursday in a gala ceremony televised from Miami.

Molotov was tapped for four awards: group, alternative artists, artist — Mexico and video of the year for “Frijolero.” The video (animation portraying President Bush, Mexican president Vicente Fox and Satan shaking hands in an oil field) won the Latin Grammy for video last month.

Fellow Mexican Natalia Lafourcade was tapped for solo artist, pop artist and new artist — Mexico.

Colombian singer-songwriter Juanes, who swept the Latin Grammys on Sept. 3 with five kudos, won as rock artist and artist of the year.

The show’s 11 performances included Korn, Dido, Iggy Pop, Chile’s La Ley and Alejandro Sanz.

Presenters included Ricky Martin, Juanes, Kelly Osbourne, Vicentico (formerly of Los Fabulosos Cadillacs), Mana, Kinky, Aterciopelados, Steve O and Chris Pontius of MTV’s “Jackass,” as well as the cast of MTV’s “Dirty Sanchez Show.”

Nominees were selected by the MTV Academy and winners were chosen by viewers.

The kudos aired live from 9-11 p.m. ET on Spanish-lingo MTV Latin America and on Stateside feevee MTV2. The flagship MTV net will rebroadcast the kudocast Nov. 1 at 11 p.m. and it will be made available to MTV channels worldwide, including MTV Brasil (which operates separately from the Spanish-lingo MTV Latin America), MTV Russia and the 10 European feevees.

For the first time, MTV sold the show to terrestrial networks in Latin America. Reflecting the low rate of pay TV penetration in the region, MTV reaches only about 13 million households in the Spanish-speaking markets. The terrestrial deals represent many more eyeballs.

And the winners are…

Solo: Natalia Lafourcade

Group: Molotov

Pop Artist: Natalia Lafourcade

Rock Artist: Juanes

Alternative Artist: Molotov

Intl. Pop Artist: Avril Lavigne

Intl. Rock Artist: Coldplay

New Intl. Artist: Evanescence

Artist — Mexico: Molotov

New Artist — Mexico: Natalia Lafourcade

Artist — Argentina: Bersuit Vergarabat

New Artist — Argentina: Vicentico

Artist — Central Region: Libido

Video of the Year: Molotov

Artist of the Year:Juanes

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0


    Leave a Reply

    No Comments

    Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

    Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

    You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

    Twitter picture

    You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

    Facebook photo

    You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

    Google+ photo

    You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

    Connecting to %s

    More Music News from Variety