Keepnews, McPartland, Goffin and King made trustees

Pianist Van Cliburn, Motown session band the Funk Brothers, folksinger Ella Jenkins, jazz saxophonist Sonny Rollins, band leader/clarinetist Artie Shaw and guitarist Doc Watson will receive Lifetime Achievement Awards at the 46th annual Grammys.

Jazz producer Orrin Keepnews, the songwriting team of Gerry Goffin and Carole King and pianist/radio host Marian McPartland will be honored with Trustees Awards at the Grammy ceremonies, to be held Feb. 8 at Staples Center.

“The Lifetime Achievement and Trustees Awards recognize music people who have made the greatest impact on our culture,” said Neil Portnow, president of the Academy. “(The artists’) outstanding accomplishments and passion for their craft have created a timeless legacy that has positively affected multiple generations, and will continue to influence generations to come.”

The Lifetime Achievement Award honors lifelong artistic contributions to the recording medium while the Trustees Award recognizes outstanding contributions to the industry in a non-performing capacity. Both are decided by a vote of the Recording Academy’s national trustees.

Cliburn was inducted into the American Classical Hall of Fame in 2001 and a year later received the Recording Academy President’s Merit Award. The Funk Brothers won two Grammys for their work captured in the film “Standing in the Shadows of Motown.”

Watson, winner of six Grammys including last year’s traditional folk album trophy, is the only one of the honorees vying for a Grammy this year. The flatpicking legend is up for country instrumental perf and traditional folk album.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0