You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

U, Imagine develop pic on drug biz

Story involves ethical issues in industry

Universal Pictures and Imagine Entertainment are developing a thriller about foul play in the pharmaceutical industry.

Imagine co-chair Brian Grazer is producing as yet untitled pic. To be written by Jesse Wigutow with a storyline in the vein of “The Insider” and “Traffic,” project concerns a drug company that discovers a cure for cancer but seeks to suppress it when it proves not to be profitable. Pic documents the ethical struggles that exist within the industry and how the lives of ordinary people are impacted by them.

Project is based on a treatment by Howard Blum.

It’s not the only project about the legal pharmaceuticals trade at U: “Traffic” producer Laura Bickford is also developing a new feature about the conflicts within the pharmaceutical biz. Screenwriter Daniel Therriault, who penned the HBO telepic “Witness Protection,” is writing it.

Overseeing “Pharma” are Universal senior VP of production Donna Langley and production prexy Scott Stuber along with Imagine VP Steve Crystal and creative exec Beth Babyak.

UTA and BenderSpink rep Wigutow. Blum was repped by CAA.

More Film

  • Jane Fonda appears in Jane Fonda

    Sundance Film Review: 'Jane Fonda in Five Acts'

    Universal Pictures and Imagine Entertainment are developing a thriller about foul play in the pharmaceutical industry. Imagine co-chair Brian Grazer is producing as yet untitled pic. To be written by Jesse Wigutow with a storyline in the vein of “The Insider” and “Traffic,” project concerns a drug company that discovers a cure for cancer but […]

  • 'I Think We're Alone Now' Review

    Sundance Film Festival: 'I Think We're Alone Now'

    Universal Pictures and Imagine Entertainment are developing a thriller about foul play in the pharmaceutical industry. Imagine co-chair Brian Grazer is producing as yet untitled pic. To be written by Jesse Wigutow with a storyline in the vein of “The Insider” and “Traffic,” project concerns a drug company that discovers a cure for cancer but […]

  • The Happy Prince

    Sundance Film Review: 'The Happy Prince'

    Universal Pictures and Imagine Entertainment are developing a thriller about foul play in the pharmaceutical industry. Imagine co-chair Brian Grazer is producing as yet untitled pic. To be written by Jesse Wigutow with a storyline in the vein of “The Insider” and “Traffic,” project concerns a drug company that discovers a cure for cancer but […]

  • Sundance Film Review: 'Skate Kitchen'

    Sundance Film Review: 'Skate Kitchen'

    Universal Pictures and Imagine Entertainment are developing a thriller about foul play in the pharmaceutical industry. Imagine co-chair Brian Grazer is producing as yet untitled pic. To be written by Jesse Wigutow with a storyline in the vein of “The Insider” and “Traffic,” project concerns a drug company that discovers a cure for cancer but […]

  • Bajrangi Bhaijaan - Salman Khan

    Eros Confirms Wide Release in China for Salman Khan's ‘Bajrangi Bhaijaan’

    Universal Pictures and Imagine Entertainment are developing a thriller about foul play in the pharmaceutical industry. Imagine co-chair Brian Grazer is producing as yet untitled pic. To be written by Jesse Wigutow with a storyline in the vein of “The Insider” and “Traffic,” project concerns a drug company that discovers a cure for cancer but […]

  • Lion

    Hollywood Increases Domination of Australian Box Office in 2017

    Universal Pictures and Imagine Entertainment are developing a thriller about foul play in the pharmaceutical industry. Imagine co-chair Brian Grazer is producing as yet untitled pic. To be written by Jesse Wigutow with a storyline in the vein of “The Insider” and “Traffic,” project concerns a drug company that discovers a cure for cancer but […]

  • Frances McDormand SAG Awards

    SAG Awards: Actors Fall Hard for 'Three Billboards' but the Oscar Race Is Far From Over

    Universal Pictures and Imagine Entertainment are developing a thriller about foul play in the pharmaceutical industry. Imagine co-chair Brian Grazer is producing as yet untitled pic. To be written by Jesse Wigutow with a storyline in the vein of “The Insider” and “Traffic,” project concerns a drug company that discovers a cure for cancer but […]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content