You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

U, Imagine develop pic on drug biz

Story involves ethical issues in industry

Universal Pictures and Imagine Entertainment are developing a thriller about foul play in the pharmaceutical industry.

Imagine co-chair Brian Grazer is producing as yet untitled pic. To be written by Jesse Wigutow with a storyline in the vein of “The Insider” and “Traffic,” project concerns a drug company that discovers a cure for cancer but seeks to suppress it when it proves not to be profitable. Pic documents the ethical struggles that exist within the industry and how the lives of ordinary people are impacted by them.

Project is based on a treatment by Howard Blum.

It’s not the only project about the legal pharmaceuticals trade at U: “Traffic” producer Laura Bickford is also developing a new feature about the conflicts within the pharmaceutical biz. Screenwriter Daniel Therriault, who penned the HBO telepic “Witness Protection,” is writing it.

Overseeing “Pharma” are Universal senior VP of production Donna Langley and production prexy Scott Stuber along with Imagine VP Steve Crystal and creative exec Beth Babyak.

UTA and BenderSpink rep Wigutow. Blum was repped by CAA.

More Film

  • 12th and Clairmount Movie Review

    Film Review: '12th and Clairmount'

    Universal Pictures and Imagine Entertainment are developing a thriller about foul play in the pharmaceutical industry. Imagine co-chair Brian Grazer is producing as yet untitled pic. To be written by Jesse Wigutow with a storyline in the vein of “The Insider” and “Traffic,” project concerns a drug company that discovers a cure for cancer but […]

  • Sam Rockwell

    Film News Roundup: Palm Springs Festival Honors Sam Rockwell for 'Three Billboards'

    Universal Pictures and Imagine Entertainment are developing a thriller about foul play in the pharmaceutical industry. Imagine co-chair Brian Grazer is producing as yet untitled pic. To be written by Jesse Wigutow with a storyline in the vein of “The Insider” and “Traffic,” project concerns a drug company that discovers a cure for cancer but […]

  • Project Runway

    Weinstein Co. Feeling Pressure to Find a Buyer (EXCLUSIVE)

    Universal Pictures and Imagine Entertainment are developing a thriller about foul play in the pharmaceutical industry. Imagine co-chair Brian Grazer is producing as yet untitled pic. To be written by Jesse Wigutow with a storyline in the vein of “The Insider” and “Traffic,” project concerns a drug company that discovers a cure for cancer but […]

  • Terminator 2: Judgment Day review

    'Terminator' Writing Team Adds Billy Ray to Put Final Polish on Script

    Universal Pictures and Imagine Entertainment are developing a thriller about foul play in the pharmaceutical industry. Imagine co-chair Brian Grazer is producing as yet untitled pic. To be written by Jesse Wigutow with a storyline in the vein of “The Insider” and “Traffic,” project concerns a drug company that discovers a cure for cancer but […]

  • Josh Hartnett, Margarita Levieva Starring in

    Josh Hartnett, Margarita Levieva Starring in Thriller 'Inherit the Viper'

    Universal Pictures and Imagine Entertainment are developing a thriller about foul play in the pharmaceutical industry. Imagine co-chair Brian Grazer is producing as yet untitled pic. To be written by Jesse Wigutow with a storyline in the vein of “The Insider” and “Traffic,” project concerns a drug company that discovers a cure for cancer but […]

  • Mahershala Ali Burn

    Mahershala Ali to Star in, Executive Produce Crime Thriller 'Burn'

    Universal Pictures and Imagine Entertainment are developing a thriller about foul play in the pharmaceutical industry. Imagine co-chair Brian Grazer is producing as yet untitled pic. To be written by Jesse Wigutow with a storyline in the vein of “The Insider” and “Traffic,” project concerns a drug company that discovers a cure for cancer but […]

  • Hermes holiday window

    Le Gentil Garcon Brings Classic Hollywood to Hermes for the Holidays

    Universal Pictures and Imagine Entertainment are developing a thriller about foul play in the pharmaceutical industry. Imagine co-chair Brian Grazer is producing as yet untitled pic. To be written by Jesse Wigutow with a storyline in the vein of “The Insider” and “Traffic,” project concerns a drug company that discovers a cure for cancer but […]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content