Org to hand out Milestone, Selznick, Vanguard kudos

The Producers Guild of America has tapped Warren Beatty, Dino De Laurentiis and James Cameron as feature film honorees for its 15th annual award show Jan. 17 at the Century Plaza.

Beatty will receive the Milestone Award, which recognizes historical contribution to the industry. Past recipients include Kirk Douglas, Alfred Hitchcock, Sherry Lansing, Louis B. Mayer, Steven Spielberg, Jack Valenti and Jack Warner.

DeLaurentiis has been named recipient of the David O. Selznick Achievement Award in Theatrical Motion Pictures, recognizing a producer whose body of work represents a significant achievement. Past recipients include Jerry Bruckheimer, Robert Evans, Lawrence Gordon, Brian Grazer, Howard Koch, Stanley Kramer, Walter Mirisch and Billy Wilder.

“Producing films is not only my life’s work, it’s my passion,” De Laurentiis said of the kudos. “I am proud to be counted among the producers in the guild and humbled to be singled out by them for this honor.”

Cameron was tapped Vanguard Award honoree; award recognizes achievement in new media and technology. Previous winners include Ed Catmull, Steve Jobs, John Lasseter and George Lucas.

“In recent years, I’ve been focused primarily on producing, on building the skill set of a producer as well as working to push the envelope in developing new tools for filmmaking,” Cameron said. “So this prestigious award from the Producers Guild means a great deal to me. … I didn’t realize anyone would notice what I was up to when I wasn’t directing.”

The PGA will announce nominees for features and TV Jan. 5 at the Century Plaza. The guild, which has about 1,800 members, has matched its producer of the year kudos with the Academy Awards’ picture winner in 10 of its 14 years, including last year with Marty Richards and “Chicago.”

The PGA is taking the earliest slot among award shows, followed by the Golden Globes on Jan. 25, Directors Guild of America kudos Feb. 7, BAFTA and the American Cinema Editors’ Eddies Feb. 15, the Writers Guild of America honors Feb. 21, the Screen Actors Guild awards Feb. 22, the IFP Spirit Awards Feb. 28 and the Oscars Feb. 29.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0