O’Toole will receive Honorary Oscar

Thesp to get nod for 'most memorable characters'

Peter O’Toole will be feted with an Honorary Oscar during the 75th anniversary Academy Awards on March 23.

Honorary nods — whose recipients are chosen by the Acad board of governors — are bestowed for “exceptional distinction in the making of motion pictures or for outstanding service to the Academy.”

O’Toole’s performances have “ignited the screen for more than four decades,” said Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences prexy Frank Pierson. “He’s seven times been nominated as best actor, which puts him in extremely rarefied air for a performer. The board of governors felt it was time for him to hold his own Oscar in his hands.”

Citation on thesp’s Oscar will read “Peter O’Toole — whose remarkable talents have provided cinema history with some of its most memorable characters.”

O’Toole was nominated in the lead actor category for “Lawrence of Arabia” (1962), “Becket” (1964), “The Lion in Winter” (1968), “Goodbye, Mr. Chips” (1969), “The Ruling Class” (1972), “The Stunt Man” (1980) and “My Favorite Year” (1982).

Previous honorary recipients include D.W. Griffith, Bob Hope (twice), Gene Kelly, Jean Renoir, Alex North, Federico Fellini, Chuck Jones and Sidney Poitier.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety