World Brief

SYDNEY — Nigel Westlake’s score of “The Nugget” took the feature music honors at the Australian Screen Music Awards Monday night.

Soundtrack award went to Cezary Skubiszewski for the mini “After the Deluge.”

Awards are presented jointly by the Australian Performing Rights Assn. and the Australian Guild of Screen Composers.

Elmer Bernstein received the AFI/APRA Intl. Prize for Excellence, given by George Miller to Nancy Knutsen in Bernstein’s absence.

Bruce Smeaton took the Intl. Achievement Award for work over the past 30 years, comprising 31 feature films and 24 TV productions. His credits include “Picnic at Hanging Rock,” “Roxanne,” “The Cars That Ate Paris” and “The Chant of Jimmy Blacksmith.”

Kudos for original song composed for a feature, telepic, series or miniseries went to Lisa Gerrard for “Go Forward” from “Whale Rider.”

Among the judges were Iva Davies, founding member of the band Ice House and composer on “Master and Commander: The Far Side of the world,” Bruce Rowland (composer on “Man From Snowy River,” “Phar Lap” and “Rebel”), David Hirschfelder (composer on “Shine,” “Elizabeth,” and “Sliding Doors”) and David Bridie (composer on “In a Savage Land”).

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0