Waters returns as emcee

HOLLYWOOD — Halle Berry will serve as the honorary chair for the 2003 IFP Independent Spirit Awards, which will be presented in Santa Monica on March 22.

In addition to Berry, the IFP Awards’ celebrity presenters will include Adrien Brody, Daniel Day-Lewis, Robert Duvall, Anthony LaPaglia, Carrie-Anne Moss, Mekhi Phifer, Parker Posey, Sissy Spacek, Mena Suvari and Isaiah Washington.

Director John Waters returns as the master of ceremonies.

Berry won the Academy Award last year for her performance in Lions Gate Films’ “Monster’s Ball.”

She also won a SAG Award, the Berlin Silver Bear Award and was named best actress by the National Board of Review in 2002 for that performance.

Berry previously earned the Emmy, Golden Globe, SAG and NAACP Image awards for her performance in HBO’s “Introducing Dorothy Dandridge.” She most recently starred in the largest-grossing Bond film to date, “Die Another Day,” and will next be seen in “X-Men 2.”

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0