CDG's top award goes to Oscar winner Acheson

The Costume Designers Guild has tapped eight recipients for its annual honorary awards to be presented during the sixth annual Costume Designers Guild Awards Feb. 21 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

Anjelica Huston will serve as mistress of ceremonies for the fourth time at the gala.

The CDG selected three-time Oscar winner James Acheson (“The Last Emperor,” “Restoration” and “Dangerous Liaisons”) to receive the Bulgari Career Achievement for Film Award, while Noel Taylor, who won an Emmy for “The Paul Muni Story,” will receive the guild’s Career Achievement for Television Award.

Recipients of the President’s Award will be Tzetzi Ganev and Tomas Velasco. Ganev is head of ladies’ custom-made costumes at Western Costume Co.; Velasco is supervisor of the tailor shop.

Posthumous new inductees into the guild’s Hall of Fame, sponsored this year by Anne Cole Collection, were Richard Hornung and “designers of the ’30s” Howard Greer, Robert Kalloch and Bernard Newman.

The CDG awards will also include awards for costume design excellence in five categories for theatrical films, television and commercials. Org will announce noms Dec. 29.

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0