Canadian writers honor top ten

Org picked prizes based on scripts, from 150 entries

TORONTO –The Writers Guild of Canada honored its own Monday evening with the sixth annual Top Ten Awards at a Toronto gala hosted by comedian Sean Cullen.

Among the winners were helmer Atom Egoyan for his feature “Ararat,” H. Jefferson Lewis for feature docu “Claude Jutra: An Unfinished Story,” and Chris Haddock, Alan DiFiore & Frank Borg for an episode of the Gemini-winning coroner series, “DaVinci’s Inquest,” which airs on pubcaster CBC.

The ten winners, which are not ranked in order, were selected from 150 entries and, unlike most competitions, the awards are based on the scripts and not the produced project.

Other winners are Elizabeth Stewart for “Guinevere Jones,” a youth-skewed skien on paybox YTV, and Mark Farrell and Ed Riche each for an episode of CBC’s “Made in Canada” (called “The Industry” in the U.S.)

Suzanne Bolch and John May took an award for an episode of CBC’s “Our Hero,” Dennis Foon for “Torso: The Evelyn Dick Story,” a TV movie for broadcaster CTV, Bruce Smith for “University,” a Vision Network skein, and Dennis Heaton for an episode of YTV’s “Yvon of the Yukon.”

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety