Acad unveils 28 student kudos finalists

Winners to be awarded medals, trophies

See nomineesHOLLYWOOD — Twenty-eight students, from a submission pool of 520, have been selected as finalists for the Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences’ 30th annual Student Academy Awards.

Seventeen U.S. colleges and universities are repped in the final 28, with multiple students tapped from CalArts (three), Florida State U. (three) and the American Film Institute (two).

The Acad wrapped up the selection process Wednesday after reviewing contenders in regions one and two. Region three finalists (New York) were announced last week (Daily Variety, May 1). Winners — up to three in each category — will be revealed later this month, and will be feted with medals and trophies during an award presentation June 8 at the Samuel Goldwyn Theater.

Cash prizes

The gold, silver and bronze medals represent different cash values. Gold recipients will receive $5,000, silver medallists take home $3,000 and bronze winners get $2,000.

The Acad will bestow an honorary Foreign Film kudo, along with a $1,000 cash grant, to this year’s foreign-lingo winner, to be announced at a later date. Last year’s winner, Martin Strange-Hansen (“Feeding Desire”), went on to nab an Oscar for live-action short with his “This Charming Man.”

Finalists for regions one and two:

Alternative Category

Erik Norsgaard and Carlos Hartado, “Subject One” (Loyola Marymount U.)
Waleed Moursi, “The Projects Lumiere” (CalArts)

Animation Category

Wes Ball, “A Work in Progress” (Florida State)
Moonsung Lee, “Bert” (Academy of Art College, San Francisco)
Nirvan Mullick, “The Box Man” (CalArts)
Jeff Tucker, “The Catch” (Ringling School of Art & Design, Sarasota, Fla.)
Ben Zelkowicz, “The Erlking” (CalArts)

Documentary Category

Lindsay Ann Daniels, “All That I Perceive” (California College of Arts & Crafts, San Francisco)
Richard Hauck, “4 Days” (Arizona Intl. College, Tucson)
Franko Galoso, “Foxhole” (Florida State)
Elizabeth Pollock, “Indiana Aria” (U. of California, Berkeley)
Christof Putzel, “Left Behind” (Connecticut College)
Renee Fischer, “Those Who Trespass” (Stanford)

Narrative Category

Steven Edell, “Bracia (Brothers)” (American U.)
Michael Downing and Philip Svoboda, “Fine” (AFI)
Keith Ransfer, “The Brother We Keep” (Columbia College, Chicago)
Gustavo Hernandez, “The Mexican Dream” (AFI)
Craig Miller, “Two-Bit” (Florida State)

Finalists for Region 3 (previously announced):

Alternative Category

“Like Twenty Impossibles,” Anne-Marie Jacir, Columbia University, New York
“You’re Going to Die,” Dennis Palazzolo, Cooper Union, New York City Animation Category
“Intelligent Life,” Jeff Spoonhower, Rochester Institute of Technology (R.I.T.), Rochester, New York
“Perpetual Motion,” Kimberly Miner, Rochester Institute of Technology (R.I.T.), Rochester, New York

Documentary Category

“Ms. Alabama Nursing Home,” Anne Paas, New York University

Narrative Category

“Jesus Henry Christ,” Dennis Lee, Columbia University, New York
“La Milpa,” Patricia Riggen, Columbia University, New York
“Mr. Smith Goes to Pittsburgh,” Peter Rubi, New York University

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety