Acad names pic scholars

Doherty, Stamp each nab $25K grant

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences has selected film scholars from Brandeis U. and the U. of California at Santa Cruz as 2003 Academy Film Scholars.

Thomas Doherty, director of the film studies program at Brandeis in Waltham, Mass., and Shelley Stamp, an associate professor of film and digital media at UC Santa Cruz, will each receive a $25,000 grant. Coin will be used to help them complete their respective manuscripts, both of which are based on historical figures in film.

Doherty’s monograph will explore the life of industry censor Joseph I. Breen, the former head of the Motion Picture Assn. of America’s Production Code Administration. Stamp will complete a book about silent film helmer Lois Weber. Doherty and Stamp are the fourth pair of scholars to receive the grants since the Academy created the program in 1999.

Half of the money will be presented to each honoree at a Dec. 11 luncheon at the Regent Beverly Wilshire Hotel; the other half will be doled out upon completion of their respective projects.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety