UCLA honors student scribes

Freelin, Freeman, Mango, Miller, Workman nab prizes

The UCLA School of Theater, Film, and Television tapped 10 student scribes in the school’s annual screenwriting competition on June 17.

The winners: Jason Freelin, “Jump the Shark”; Chris Freeman, “Two Wolves”; Dave Mango, “Crying in the Darkness”; Brian Miller, “Prison Makeover”; and Suzanne Workman, “The Watershed.”

Honorable mentions went to: Alan Condren, “Ride of His Life”; Chris Douglas, “Missionary Position”; Terry Holdredge, “Turbulence”; Jamie Hubbard, “King River”; and Alison Saalbach, “The List.”

The awards are bestowed for feature-length works written during the one-year graduate-level Professional Program in Screenwriting. The judging panel is composed of professional writers and faculty.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety