You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

‘Matrix’ bows synchronized

Pic will debut simultaneously worldwide

It’s going to be an early wakeup call next month for “Matrix” fans in the U.S.

In what might be called a “day and moment” strategy, Warner Bros. has decided to release “The Matrix Revolutions” at the exact same time in every major city on Wednesday, Nov. 5. That means 6 a.m. in Los Angeles, 9 a.m. in New York, 2 p.m. in London, 5 p.m. in Moscow and 11 p.m. in Tokyo.

Studio, which has been contemplating the never-before-employed scenario for several months, plans to start the screenings of the trilogy’s final chapter at the same moment in a total of 65 actively tracked territories.

Distrib execs said the strategy was motivated by a desire to capitalize on the success of the previous two pics, along with tightening up protection against piracy.

“The zero hour simultaneous opening of ‘Revolutions’ once again positions the ‘Matrix’ films as the cutting edge experience in motion pictures,” said domestic distribution prexy Dan Fellman.

Studio also said the large-screen version of “Revolutions” will debut at Imax sites in the U.S. on the same day, marking the first time a major Hollywood live-action film has been released concurrently in 35mm and Imax formats.

Move reflects a the rising popularity of the “day and date” worldwide releasing strategy, in which tentpole pics open overseas in ever-closer proximity to their domestic openings. In May Fox opened “X2” on the same date in 58 countries.

More Film

  • Jane Fonda appears in Jane Fonda

    Sundance Film Review: 'Jane Fonda in Five Acts'

    It’s going to be an early wakeup call next month for “Matrix” fans in the U.S. In what might be called a “day and moment” strategy, Warner Bros. has decided to release “The Matrix Revolutions” at the exact same time in every major city on Wednesday, Nov. 5. That means 6 a.m. in Los Angeles, […]

  • 'I Think We're Alone Now' Review

    Sundance Film Festival: 'I Think We're Alone Now'

    It’s going to be an early wakeup call next month for “Matrix” fans in the U.S. In what might be called a “day and moment” strategy, Warner Bros. has decided to release “The Matrix Revolutions” at the exact same time in every major city on Wednesday, Nov. 5. That means 6 a.m. in Los Angeles, […]

  • The Happy Prince

    Sundance Film Review: 'The Happy Prince'

    It’s going to be an early wakeup call next month for “Matrix” fans in the U.S. In what might be called a “day and moment” strategy, Warner Bros. has decided to release “The Matrix Revolutions” at the exact same time in every major city on Wednesday, Nov. 5. That means 6 a.m. in Los Angeles, […]

  • Sundance Film Review: 'Skate Kitchen'

    Sundance Film Review: 'Skate Kitchen'

    It’s going to be an early wakeup call next month for “Matrix” fans in the U.S. In what might be called a “day and moment” strategy, Warner Bros. has decided to release “The Matrix Revolutions” at the exact same time in every major city on Wednesday, Nov. 5. That means 6 a.m. in Los Angeles, […]

  • Bajrangi Bhaijaan - Salman Khan

    Eros Confirms Wide Release in China for Salman Khan's ‘Bajrangi Bhaijaan’

    It’s going to be an early wakeup call next month for “Matrix” fans in the U.S. In what might be called a “day and moment” strategy, Warner Bros. has decided to release “The Matrix Revolutions” at the exact same time in every major city on Wednesday, Nov. 5. That means 6 a.m. in Los Angeles, […]

  • Lion

    Hollywood Increases Domination of Australian Box Office in 2017

    It’s going to be an early wakeup call next month for “Matrix” fans in the U.S. In what might be called a “day and moment” strategy, Warner Bros. has decided to release “The Matrix Revolutions” at the exact same time in every major city on Wednesday, Nov. 5. That means 6 a.m. in Los Angeles, […]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content