Cannes fest jury announced

List of 9 includes 3 French, 2 U.S.

PARIS — The Cannes Film Festival announced the members of this year’s jury on Wednesday, and the nine-strong line-up includes two Americans — actress Meg Ryan and helmer Steven Soderbergh.

Gallic thesps Jean Rochefort and Karin Viard complete a trio of French jurors along with helmer Patrice Chereau, who is presiding over the jury.

Bollywood star Aishwarya Rai was confirmed as the first Indian actress to sit on the jury. She will serve along with Chinese actor/helmer Jiang Wen, Bosnian helmer Danis Tanovic, and the Italian writer Erri de Luca.

The Cannes fest kicks off May 14. The official selection is due to be announced April 23.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety