Chair tapped to lead SMPTE, other officers also elected

Warner Bros. exec Richard P. May has been tapped chairman of the Hollywood section of the Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers.

The Hollywood Section includes more than 1,500 members.

“The primary mission for SMPTE, since it was founded in 1916, is to recommend industry standards and practices that serve the art form,” said May, who is VP Film Preservation at Warner. “This requires open communications between the creative community, which produces entertainment content, and the companies and individuals who provide the technology tools they use.”

Other officers

Other new Hollywood Section officers are secretary-treasurer David Wiswell (Panasonic), managers Darcy Antonellis (Warner Bros.), Charles S. Swartz (Entertainment Technology Center), Ira M. Lichtman (Walt Disney Co.), Marty Cohen (DreamWorks), John Hora, ASC (American Society of Cinematographers), Beverly Pasterczyk (Kodak) and Leon Silverman (Laser Pacific Media).

Other members of the board include past chairman Alan Masson (Kodak), membership chair Greg Boren (Panasonic), test materials adviser Paul Carey (Marketing Specialists), education chairman Leon Silverman and co-chairs Charles S. Swartz and Milt Shefter (Miljoy Enterprises) and communications Bob Fisher (CCS).

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0