Lively campaign probable due to turnout

See lineupReflecting high stakes and the larger-than-usual number of open seats, a total of 157 candidates have been cleared to run for SAG’s national board in Hollywood and New York.

High-profile members running include two Oscar winners –incumbents Richard Dreyfuss and Cliff Robertson — along with Maria Conchita Alonso, Tom Bosley, Seymour Cassel, James Cromwell, Richard Crenna, Morgan Fairchild, Mike Farrell, Frances Fisher, Valerie Harper, Jane Kaczmarek, Diane Ladd, Esai Morales, Tony Roberts, Fred Savage, Sam Waterston and Noah Wyle.

Former SAG prexies William Daniels and William Schallert are also running, in addition to Daniels’ wife Bonnie Bartlett and Bruce Boxleitner, husband of current SAG prexy Melissa Gilbert. A few high-profile board members, including Tess Harper and Sally Kirkland, have declined to run, as has Tom LaGrua, who headed the last two negotiations with agents and studios.

The heavy turnout signals the strong probability of a lively campaign over the next two months, with ballots mailed Aug. 26 and results announced Sept. 25. Since the election is the first in a reorganization to cut the size of SAG’s 107-seat board, all seats are open except those of Gilbert, secretary Elliot Gould and treasurer Kent McCord.

The Hollywood contest drew 109 candidates for 31 board slots and 21 alternates; the 48 New York candidates are vying for 15 board slots with 10 alternates. Another 22 slots will be filled by regional reps.

These are the key issues to have emerged so far:

  • Whether SAG should revive its expired partnership with Hollywood agents after members voted in April against easing agency ownership rules in SAG’s master franchise agreement

  • How strongly should SAG enforce its contracts, particularly its Global Rule One effort to insist that members work only on union contracts overseas if the project is aimed at the U.S. market

  • How strongly should SAG battle AFTRA over jurisdiction and whether SAG should revive efforts to merge with AFTRA, three years after members voted against doing so

  • Whether SAG board members should be required to meet a “working in the trade” rule requiring them to work a specific number of days per year in order to be eligible.

Contest is also the first since the unprecedented move in January to throw out last fall’s election due to rules violations by SAG staff. Two of the execs who oversaw that contest have announced their retirements.

Gilbert’s allies have organized under the United Screen Actors banner in New York and the Restore Respect campaign in Hollywood. Gould and McCord have helped form the Leadership Coalition in Hollywood, and former New York prexy Lisa Scarola is leading the Clean Slate candidates in Gotham.

Hollywood candidates:
Aki Aleong
Richard Thomas Allen
Chris M. Allport
Maria Conchita Alonso
Robert Amico
Daryl Anderson
Ninon Aprea
Amy Aquino
Rene Aubry
Karen Austin
Steve Barr
Bonnie Bartlett
Eugene Boggs
Tom Bosley
Barbara Bosson
Tom Bower
Bruce Boxleitner
Rebeccah Bush
Jordana Capra
Mark Carlton
Seymour Cassel
Barbara Cheeseborough
George Coe
Jack Coleman
Bob Courts
Richard Crenna
James Cromwell
Suzanne Cryer
Sondra Currie
Steven Cutler
William Daniels
Dana Daurey
Trista Delamere
Charley De La Pena
Joan Del Mar
Gordon Drake
Richard Dreyfuss
Carole Elliott
Shelley Fabares
Morgan Fairchild
Mike Farrell
John Michael Ferrari
Frances Fisher
Leo D. Frank
Gary Fredo
Leigh French
Kathleen Haigney
Robert David Hall
Brian Hamilton
Valerie Harper
Michael Harrah
Mariette Hartley
Sumi Haru
Richard Herd
Peter Asle Holden
David Huddleston
David Jolliffe
Jane Kaczmarek
Patrick Kerr
Kevin Kilner
Erich Klain
Diane Ladd
Sonya Y. Maddox
Dakin Matthews
Colin McCabe
Russell McConnell
Robert Duncan McNeill
Kurt McCortney
Peggy Miley
Michael Monks
Esai Morales
Aubrey Morris
Paul Napier
Alan Ogle
Dominic Oliver
Peter Onorati
Paul Petersen
Mark S. Reed
Raul Reformina
Sy Richardson
Randy Rose
Alan Rosenberg
Mitchell Ryan
Masami Saito
Vanna Salviati
Julie Sanford
Fred Savage
William Schallert
Dave Shearer
Halcyon Shearer
Marshal Silveran
Jerry Sroka
Cynthia Steele
Jean St. James
Marcia Strassman
Yale Summers
Rene Taylor
Oliver Theess
J.T. Thibodeau
Keri Tombazian
Jerry G. Velasco
Karl Warren
Angela Watson
Gregory White
Vivicca A. Whitsett
De Wayne Williams
Scott Wilson
Noah Wyle.

New York candidates:
Yaffa Amato-Sharir
Ron Balaguer
Chip Bolcik
Rocky Caforio
Michael Carbonella
Kathleen Chalfant
Paul Christie
Domenick Curreri
Milagros De La Rosa
Maureen Donnelly
John Fleming
Sam Freed
Charles Gemmill
Nancy Giles
Lois Fern Hamilton
Torrance Harvey
Eileen Henry
Mike Hodge
Michelle Hurd
Julie Hyman
Lord Kayson
Richard Kelly
Timothy Klein
Gerald Kline
Jack Landron
Howard I. Laniado
Doug Lory
Cara Manzella
Larry Marx
Michael Mcderman
Sue-Anne Morrow
Jody Myers
Erik-Anders Nilsson
Hazz Noble
Tina North
Angela Rago
Francisco Rivela
Tony Roberts
Cliff Robertson
Marge Royce
Kj Sanchez
Lisa Scarola
Corrine Stella
Skipp Sudduth
Cynthia Vance
Ron Wall
Sam Waterston
Liz Zazzi.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0