R&B org fetes Supremes

Wilson to receive Legacy Tribute, Warwick Lifetime Achievement

The Rhythm & Blues Foundation will present Pioneer Awards to the Supremes, Del Vikings (“Come Go With Me”) and Dixie Cups (“Iko Iko”) plus Clarence “Frogman” Henry (“Ain’t Got No Home”), Johnny Nash (“I Can See Clearly Now”) and Koko Taylor (“Wang Dang Doodle”) at a ceremony in New York on Feb. 20.

In addition, the Foundation’s Legacy Tribute will go to Jackie Wilson while Dionne Warwick will be presented with the Lifetime Achievement Award. George Clinton, the funk progenitor who fronted Funkadelic, and saxophonist Maceo Parker will receive awards in the sideman/songwriter category.

Honorees receive cash as well as a statue. The Rhythm and Blues Foundation was established in 1988 to promote recognition, financial support, educational outreach and historic and cultural preservation of rhythm and blues music through various grants and programs in support of R&B and Motown artists from the 1940s through the 1970s. The Pioneer Awards Program has recognized more than 150 legendary artists from the ’40s through the ’70s.

The event is staged as part of Grammy Week. The Grammys will be handed out Feb. 23 at Madison Square Garden.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0


    Leave a Reply

    No Comments

    Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

    Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

    WordPress.com Logo

    You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

    Twitter picture

    You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

    Facebook photo

    You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

    Google+ photo

    You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

    Connecting to %s

    More Music News from Variety