Juanes, Torres glom 5 Latin MTV vid noms

Kudos to be handed out at October's end

MIAMI — MTV Networks Latin America has announced the nominees for the inaugural MTV Video Music Awards Latin America.

Colombian artists Juanes and Shakira and Argentina’s Diego Torres received five nominations apiece. Chilean band La Ley, Mexican band Kinky and singer Paulina Rubio followed with four each.

The Spanish-lingo event will be broadcast live in Latin America (except in Brazil) on Oct. 24 (8 p.m. Mexico, 9 p.m. Chile, 10 p.m. Argentina) from the Jackie Gleason Theater in Miami Beach.

Pergolini, Luna co-host

The awards will be co-hosted by Argentine TV and radio personality Mario Pergolini and Mexican actor Diego Luna (“Y tu mama tambien,” “Frida”).

Slated to perform are Mana, Shakira and System of a Down.

Nomination ballots were sent to a “Music and Video Academy” comprising music industry professionals and MTV viewers who determined the nominees for 17 categories. Ballots were cast via the Internet.

The winner for each category will be chosen by fans, who may cast votes exclusively online at MTV Latin America’s Web site www.mtvla.com from Saturday through Oct. 7.

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Music News from Variety

Loading