Cassavetes, Pierce, Ferguson among the honored

Filmmakers have made an indelible stamp on pop culture, and ya can’t lick ’em.

But now you can.

On Oct. 9, the U.S. Postal Service and the Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences unveiled 10 commemorative stamps, celebrating “American Filmmaking: Behind the Scenes.”

“We do stamps honoring actors all the time,” says Acad executive director Bruce Davis. “But we have never done anything movie-related that gets behind the camera.”

Davis says he hopes the tribute will be a reminder that there are “other people who contribute to the making of this wonderful art form, an art form that depends on contributions of many, many kinds.”

The stamps will be issued Feb. 25, the day ballots are sent to Academy members for final Oscar balloting — making Acad envelopes the first to carry the new stamps.

The collection salutes John Cassavetes for directing and Jack Pierce, the creator of Boris Karloff’s famous Frankenstein mug, for makeup. The character E.T. is featured for Mark Siegel’s special effects, and Edith Head represents costume design.

Also being honored: Perry Ferguson for art direction, Paul Hill for cinematography, J. Watson Webb for film editing, Max Steiner for music, David O. Selznick for screenwriting and Gary Summers for sound.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0