Past winners include Ullmann, Lee, Hallstrom

Michael Apted will receive the Intl. Filmmaker Award during the Nortel Networks Palm Springs Intl. Film Festival, opening Thursday and running through Jan. 21.

Nod, given to an actor or director who has broken through the barrier of language and crossed over the borders of culture to become a filmmaker of the world, will be presented by Michael York.

Past winners include Liv Ullmann, Ang Lee, Lasse Hallstrom, Pedro Almodovar, Catherine Deneuve and Zhang Yimou.

Apted’s latest pic, “Enigma,” will be part of the fest’s “Conversations With” series, aimed at exploring cinema by bringing directors to discuss their craft, followed by a screening of the helmer’s current work. Event will be held Saturday evening at Palm Springs High School.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0