Lensers put up Poster

Vet elected prexy of American Society of Cinematographers

Steven Poster has been elected president of the American Society of Cinematographers, succeeding Victor Kemper.

Poster’s feature credits include “Life Stinks,” “Someone to Watch Over Me,” “Donnie Darko,” “The Cemetery Club” and “Stuart Little 2.” TV work includes “Testament,” “Courage,” “The Roswell Incident” and “The Color of Justice.”

The ASC also tapped John Bailey as 1st VP; Richard Crudo, 2nd VP; John Toll, 3rd VP; Robert Primes, treasurer; John Hora, secretary; and George Spiro Dibie, sergeant-at-arms. Board members are Stephen Burum, Russell Carpenter, Allen Daviau, Roger Deakins, William A. Fraker, Laszlo Kovacs, Victor J. Kemper, Owen Roizman, John Toll, Haskell Wexler, Vilmos Zsigmond, Howard Anderson III, Dean Cundey and Michael O’Shea.

“The society has an unique legacy,” Poster said. “More than 80 years ago, the ASC was founded as an organization committed to advancing both the art and craft of filmmaking. That spirit is flourishing today in a new generation of members who are dedicated to progress but are determined to act as guardians of the integrity of the art form.”

Poster expects the ASC to break ground on its planned new Hollywood campus during the summer. Project will include a 250-seat screening room and conference area.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety