Edinburgh fest line-up unveiled

'Callar' opens, 'Guru,' 'Eye,' 'Heartlands' preem

LONDON — Lynne Ramsay’s “Morvern Callar” will open this year’s Edinburgh Intl. Film Festival (Aug. 15-25), with Christopher Nolan’s “Insomnia” closing the event.

There will be world premieres for two Working Title movies – “The Guru” and “My Little Eye” – as well as Damian O’Donnell’s “Heartlands,” co-produced by Miramax and DNA Films.

Other Brit pics getting their first airing include “The Last Great Wilderness,” the debut feature of Scottish helmer David McKenzie; Dominic Savage’s “Out of Control;” and Isaac Julien’s documentary “Baadasssss Cinema.”

“As we saw at Cannes, it is a very strong year for British cinema,” said Shane Danielsen, the fest’s new artistic director.

Danielsen has also chosen an extensive selection of international movies culled from earlier fests, including Gregor Jordan’s “Buffalo Soldiers,” David Cronenberg’s “Spider” and Catherine Breillat’s “Sex Is Comedy.”

Below follows a listing of the fest’s line-up.



“Morvern Callar” Lynne Ramsay (opening night)
“This Is Not A Love Song” Billie Eltringham
“Revengers Tragedy” Alex Cox
“All or Nothing” Mike Leigh
“Heartlands” Damien O’Donnell
“Once Upon a Time in the Midlands” Shane Meadows
“The Last Great Wilderness” David MacKenzie
“Tomorrow La Scala!” Francesca Joseph
“Out Of Control” Dominic Savage
“Insomnia” Christopher Nolan (closing night)


“Tadpole” Gary Winick
“Rabbit Proof Fence” Philip Noyce
“8 Women” (8 Femmes) Francois Ozon
“Buffalo Soldiers” Gregor Jordan
“One Hour Photo” Mark Romanek
“The Guru” Daisy von Scherler Mayer


“How To Draw A Bunny” John Walter
“Marlene Dietrich – Her Own Song” J. David Riva
“Sex with Strangers” Harry Gantz, Joe Gantz
“Broadway” (Black Sea Brodwey) Chernoye Morye, Vitali Manski
“The Eye of the Day” (De Stand Van De Zon) Leonard Retel Helmrich
“Tribute” Rich Fox, Kris Curry
“To Be and to Have” (Etre et Avoir) Nicolas Philibert
“Blind Spot: Hitler’s Secretary” (Im Toten Winkel: Hitlers Sekretarin) Othmar Schriderer, Andre Heller
“Hoover Street Revival” Sophie Fiennes
“The Backyard” Paul Hough
“From the Other Side” (De l’autre cote) Chantal Akerman
“Digging For Dutch: The Search For The Lost Treasure Of Dutch Schultz” Laura Levine
“It Kinda Scares Me” (Tomer Ve-Hasrutim) Tomer Heymann
“Baadasssss Cinema” Isaac Julien
“The Cuban Game” (El Juego De Cuba) Manuel Martin Cuenca
“Detained” (Asurot) Anat Even, Ada Ushpiz
“The Fire Within” Leanne Whitney
“Cinemania” Angela Christlieb, Stephen Kijak
“Fellini: Sono un Gran Bugiardo” (Fellini: I’m a Big Liar) Damian Pettigrew
“Bashkim” Vadim Jendreyko


“Baader” Christopher Roth
“July Rhapsody” (Nan Ren Si Shi) Ann Hui
“Every Day God Kisses Us On The Mouth” (In Fiecare Zi Dumnezeu Ne Saruta Pe Gura) Sinisa Dragin
“The Trespasser” (O Invasor) Beto Brant
“The Son of the Bride” (El Hijo de la Novia) Juan Jose Campanella
“Something To Remind Me” (Toter Mann) Christian Petzold
“All About Lily Chou-Chou” Shunji Iwai
“Go” Isao Yukisada
“Sex is Comedy” Catherine Breillat
“Spider” David Cronenberg
“Ten” Abbas Kiarostami
“Confession” (Itiraf) Zeki Demirkubuz
“Fate” (Yazgi) Zeki Demirkubuz
“Angela” Roberta Torre
“Ten Minutes Older: The Trumpet” Victor Erice, Werner Herzog, Jim Jarmusch, Kaige Chen, Aki Kaurismäki, Spike Lee, Wim Wenders
“A Red Bear” (Un Oso Rojo) Adrián Israel Caetano
“The Clay Bird” (Matir Monia) Tareque Masud
“A Private Affair” (Une Affaire Privee) Guillaume Nicloux
“Balzac And The Little Chinese Seamstress” (Balzac Et la Petite Tailleuse Chinoise) Dai Sijie


“Soft Shell Man (Un Crabe dans la Tete) Andre Turpin
“Deep Breath” (Le Souffle) Damien Odoul
“Take Care of My Cat” (Ko-yang-i-rul Boo-tak-hae) Jeong Jae-Eun
“Pleasant Days” (Szep Napok) Kornel Mundruczo
“Japon” Carlos Reygadas
“Thirteen Conversations About One Thing” Jill Sprecher
“Dragonflies” (Øyenstikker) Marius Holst
“Irreversible” Gaspar Noe
“Our Father” (Abouna) Mahamat-Saleh Haroun
“Cry Woman” (Ku Qi De Nu Ren) Bingjian Liu
“Songs From My Mother’s Country” (Avazhaye Sarzamin Madariyam) Bahman Ghobadi
“Waiting For Happiness” (Heremakono) Abderrahmane Sissako
“Australian Rules” Paul Goldman
“Intacto” Juan Carlos Fresnadillo
“Strass” Vincent Lannoo
“Just a Kiss” Fisher Stevens


“Kabhi Khushi Kabhi Gham” Karan Johar
“Dilwale Dulhania Le Jaayenge” Aditya Chopra
“Asoka” Santosh Sivan


“Decasia” Bill Morrison
“The Importance of Being Earnest” Oliver Parker
“Changing Lanes” Roger Michell
“Breath Control: The History of the Human Beat Box” Joey Garfield
“Her Majesty” Mark J. Gordon


“The Happiness of the Katakuris” (Katakuri-ke no Koufuku) Miike Takashi
“Dark Water” (Honogurai Mizuno Sokokara) Hideo Nakata
“My Little Eye” Marc Evans
“Bundy” Matthew Bright
“Tattoo” Robert Schwentke
“Volcano” (High Whasango) Kim Tae-Gyun


“Loving Couples” (Älskande Par) Mai Zetterling
“The Pram” (Barnvagnen) Bo Wilderberg
“Raven’s End” (Kvarteret Korpen) Bo Widerberg
“Here’s Your Life” (Här Har du Ditt Liv) Jan Troell
“Night Games” (Nattlek) Mai Zetterling
“Who Saw Him Die?” (Ole, Dole, Doff) Jan Troell


Kon Ichikawa (11 features 1955-65)

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety