Helmer picks up thriller spec

“The Waiting” is the hardest part for some — but not for Wes Craven.

Helmer’s Dimension-based Craven/Maddalena Films banner has picked up the spec from Juliet Snowden and Stiles White in a deal valued at low six figures against mid-six figures.

In what’s described as a suspense thriller in the tradition of “The Omen” and “What Lies Beneath,” a woman who recently lost her child is visited by the spirit of another deceased child, whom she mistakes for her own. But when the woman tells her husband, he thinks she’s going mad. Meanwhile, the initially benign specter reveals a darker agenda.

Project was brought into the company by Craven VP Alix Taylor. It will be supervised by Taylor, Maddalena and Miramax theatrical production executive Laura Rister.

Craven next helms “Pulse” for Dimension, which goes before cameras in September.

Duo was repped in the deal by ICM and their managers at Kaplan/Perrone Entertainment.

Follow @Variety on Twitter for breaking news, reviews and more
Post A Comment 0