BAFTA noms unveiled

'Rings,' 'Rouge' up for a dozen awards each

LONDON — “The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring” and “Moulin Rouge” have emerged as pacesetters in the race for the British Academy Film Awards, grabbing 12 nominations each.

But in the most open and most international contest for years, several other movies have a chance of winning big when the awards are handed out Feb. 24.

“Amelie” and “Gosford Park” bagged nine noms each, “Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone” (as it’s known overseas) took seven, “Shrek” and “Iris” weighed in with six apiece, “A Beautiful Mind” got five and “Bridget Jones’s Diary” is in the frame with four.

The strong showing of “Shrek” was perhaps the biggest surprise, with DreamWorks earning its reward for the year’s most aggressive campaign to members of the British Academy of Film & Television Arts. “Shrek” is up for the best film trophy alongside “Amelie,” “A Beautiful Mind,” “The Lord of the Rings” and “Moulin Rouge.”

Eddie Murphy’s voicing of a donkey in “Shrek” also reaped a surprise nom, for supporting actor. He will compete against Hugh Bonneville for “Iris”; Robbie Coltrane, “Harry Potter”; Colin Firth, “Bridget Jones’s Diary”; and Jim Broadbent, “Moulin Rouge.”

Broadbent is a double nominee, picking up an actor nom for his perf in “Iris.” The other contenders in that category are Russell Crowe for “A Beautiful Mind”; Ian McKellen, “Lord of the Rings”; Kevin Spacey, “The Shipping News”; and Tom Wilkinson, “In the Bedroom.”

Judi Dench will be the hometown favorite to win the actress prize for “Iris,” but she faces stiff competition from Sissy Spacek for “In the Bedroom”; Audrey Tautou, “Amelie”; Nicole Kidman, “The Others”; and Renee Zellweger, “Bridget Jones’s Diary.”

Dench is another double nominee, with a supporting nom for “Shipping News.” She’s up against Helen Mirren and Maggie Smith from “Gosford Park”; Jennifer Connolly, “Beautiful Mind”; and Kate Winslet, “Iris” (playing the younger version of Dench’s character).

In contention for the David Lean Award for achievement in direction are Jean-Pierre Jeunet (“Amelie”), Ron Howard (“Beautiful Mind”), Robert Altman (“Gosford Park”), Peter Jackson (“Lord of the Rings”) and Baz Luhrmann (“Moulin Rouge”).

“Lord of the Rings” and “Moulin Rouge” emerged as the most nominated pics thanks to expected strong showings in the tech categories.

Films that failed to receive as many noms as their distribs might have hoped include Ridley Scott’s “Black Hawk Down,” nominated only for cinematography, editing and sound; David Lynch’s “Mulholland Drive,” up for editing and music; “The Royal Tenenbaums,” original screenplay; and “The Man Who Wasn’t There,” cinematography.

And the nominees are…

“Amelie” Claudie Ossard
“A Beautiful Mind” Brian Grazer/Ron Howard
“The Lord Of The Rings” Peter Jackson/Barrie M. Osborne/Tim Sanders
“Moulin Rouge” Martin Brown/Baz Luhrmann/Fred Baron
“Shrek” Aron Warner/John H Williams/Jeffrey Katzenberg

The Alexander Korda Award for Outstanding British Film of the Year
“Bridget Jones Diary” Tim Bevan/Eric Fellner/Jonathan Cavendish
“Gosford Park” Robert Altman/Bob Balaban/David Levy
“Harry Potter And The Philosopher’s Stone” David Heyman/Chris Columbus
“Iris” Robert Fox/Scott Rudin/Richard Eyre
“Me Without You” Finola Dwyer/Sandra Goldbacher

The Carl Foreman Award for Most Promising Newcomer to British Film
Steve Coogan/Harry Normal Writers: “The Parole Officer”
Julian Fellows Writer: “Gosford Park”
Joel Hopkins/Nicola Usbourne Director/Producer: “Jump Tomorrow”
Jack Lothian Writer: “Late Night Shopping”
Richard Parry Director/Co-writer: “South West 9”

The David Lean Award for Achievement in Direction
“Amelie” Jean-Pierre Jeunet
“A Beautiful Mind” Ron Howard
“Gosford Park” Robert Altman
“The Lord Of The Rings” Peter Jackson
“Moulin Rouge” Baz Luhrmann

Screenplay (Original)
“Amelie” Guillaume Laurant/Jean-Pierre Jeunet
“Gosford Park” Julian Fellowes
“Moulin Rouge” Baz Luhrmann/Craig Pearce
“The Others” Alejandro Amenabar
“The Royal Tenebaums” Wes Anderson/Owen Wilson

Screenplay (Adapted)
“A Beautiful Mind” Akiva Goldsman
“Bridget Jones’s Diary” Helen Fielding/Andrew Davies/Richard Curtis
“Iris” Richard Eyre/Charles Wood
“The Lord Of The Rings” Fran Walsh/Philippa Boyens/Peter Jackson
“Shrek” Ted Elliott/Terry Rossio/Joe Stillman/Roger S.H. Schulman

Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role
Judi Dench “Iris”
Nicole Kidman “The Others”
Sissy Spacek “In The Bedroom”
Audrey Tautou “Amelie”
Renee Zellweger “Bridget Jones’s Diary”

Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role
Jim Broadbent “Iris”
Russell Crowe “A Beautiful Mind”
Ian McKellen “The Lord Of The Rings”
Kevin Spacey “The Shipping News”
Tom Wilkinson “In the Bedroom”

Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role
Jennifer Connelly “A Beautiful Mind”
Judi Dench “The Shipping News”
Helen Mirren “Gosford Park”
Maggie Smith “Gosford Park”
Kate Winslet “Iris”

Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role
Hugh Bonneville “Iris”
Jim Broadbent “Moulin Rouge”
Robbie Coltrane “Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone”
Colin Firth “Bridget Jones’s Diary”
Eddie Murphy “Shrek”

The Anthony Asquith Award for Achievement in Film Music
“Amelie” Yann Tiersen
“The Lord Of The Rings” Howard Shore
“Moulin Rouge” Craig Armstrong
“Mulholland Drive” Angelo Badalamenti
“Shrek” Harry Gregson-Williams/John Powell

Film Not in the English Language
“Amelie” Claudie Ossard/Jean-Pierre Jeunet
“Amores Perros” Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu
“Behind The Sun” Arthur Cohn/Walter Salles
“Monsoon Wedding” Caroline Baron/Mira Nair
“The Piano Teacher” Veit Heiduschka/Michael Haneke

“Amelie” Bruno Delbonnel
“Black Hawk Down” Slawomir Idziak
“The Lord Of The Rings” Andrew Lesnie
“The Man Who Wasn’t There” Roger Deakins
Donald M. McAlpine

Production Design
“Amelie” Aline Bonetto
“Gosford Park” Stephen Altman
“Harry Potter And The Philosopher’s Stone” Stuart Craig
“The Lord Of The Rings” Grant Major
“Moulin Rouge” Catherine Martin

Costume Design
“Gosford Park” Jenny Beavan
“Harry Potter And The Philosopher’s Stone” Judianna Makovsky
“The Lord Of The Rings” Ngila Dickson
“Moulin Rouge” Catherine Martin/Angus Strathie
“Planet Of The Apes” Colleen Atwood

“Amelie” Herve Schneid
“Black Hawk Down” Pietro Scalia
“The Lord Of The Rings” John Gilbert
“Moulin Rouge” Jill Bilcock
“Mulholland Drive” Mary Sweeney

“Black Hawk Down”
“Harry Potter And The Philosopher’s Stone”
“The Lord Of The Rings”
“Moulin Rouge”

Achievement in Special Visual Effects
“A.I. Artificial Intelligence”
“Harry Potter And The Philosopher’s Stone”
“The Lord Of The Rings”
“Moulin Rouge”

“Gosford Park”
“Harry Potter And The Philosopher’s Stone”
“The Lord Of The Rings”
“Moulin Rouge”
“Planet Of The Apes”

Short Film
“About A Girl” Janey de Nordwall/Brian Percival/Julie Rutterford
“Inferno” Tuen Hilte/Paul Kovsoulides/Sharat Sardana
“The Red Peppers” Lee Santana/Dominic Santana
“Skin Deep” Andy Porter/Yousaf Ali Khan
“Tattoo” Arabella Page Croft/Sara Putt/Jules Williamson/Jemma Field

Short Animation
“Camouflage” Jonathan Bairstow/Jonathan Hodgson
“Dog” Suzie Templeton
“Home Road Movies” Dick Arnall/Robert Bradbrook/Ian Sellar
“Tuesday” Geoff Dunbar/Judith Roberts
“The World Of Interiors” Chris Shepherd/Bunny Schendlar

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety