AFI announces awards jury

Professionals pooled from variety of backgrounds

HOLLYWOOD — Gearing up for Saturday’s inaugural AFI Awards ceremony, the American Film Institute has revealed the names of their 100-member jury — a.k.a. the voters.

Comprised of an array of professionals from across the moving image communities, AFI’s elite 100 include David Ansen, Darren Aronofsky, Alan Ball, Ron Bass, Marcy Carsey, Richard Corliss, Nora Ephron, Milos Forman, Stephen Gaghan, Amy Heckerling, Greg Hoblit, Dawn Hudson, Spike Jonze, Rita Kempley, Arnold Kopelson, Martin Landau, Lucy Liu, Sidney Lumet, Shirley MacLaine, Variety‘s Todd McCarthy, Peter Rainer, Leah Rozen, John Singleton, Richard Sylbert, Steve Tisch, Kenneth Turan, Saul Zaentz and Hans Zimmer.

AFI Trustees Debbie Allen, Kathleen Kennedy, James V. Kimsey, Steven Spielberg and David Wolper are also members.

Jury considered nominations in 19 categories. Nominees were selected by two 13-member committees, — The 100-member jury of the AFI Awards are:

Dede Allen, Editor

Debbie Allen, Actor/Director/Producer/AFI Trustee

David Ansen, Newsweek

Darren Aronofsky, Director/Writer

Alan Ball, Writer/Director/Producer

Neema Barnette, Director

Ron Bass, Writer/Producer

Robert Benton, Director/Writer

Bob Boyle, Production Designer

Pieter Jan Brugge, Producer

Henry Bumstead, Production Designer

Michelle Byrd, Independent Features Project

Mary Schmidt Campbell, NYU’s Tisch School

Marcy Carsey, Producer

Anne V. Coates, Editor

Richard Corliss, Time Magazine

Leslie Dilley, Production Designer

Richard Edlund, Digital Effects Artist

Nora Ephron, Writer/Director/Producer

Steven Farber, Movieline

Milos Forman, Director

Stephen Gaghan, Writer

Leslie Linka Glatter, Director

Gary David Goldberg, Producer/Writer

Jerry Goldsmith, Composer

Tim Goodman, San Francisco Examiner

Mary Ann Grasso, National Assoc. of Theatre Owners

Christopher Guest, Director/Writer/Actor

Amy Heckerling, Director/Writer/Producer

Leonard Hill, Producer

Tina Hirsch, Editor

Foster Hirsch, Scholar/Historian

Greg Hoblit, Director/Producer

Winnie Holzman, Writer/Producer

Kirk Honeycutt, The Hollywood Reporter

Dawn Hudson, Independent Feature Project West

Annette Insdorf, Columbia University

Mark Johnson, Producer

Shirley Jones, Actor

Spike Jonze, Director/Actor

Glenn Jordan, Director/Producer

Janusz Kaminski, Cinematographer

James Katz, Preservationist

Rita Kempley, The Washington Post

Kathleen Kennedy, Producer/AFI Trustee

Callie Khouri, Writer

James V. Kimsey, AFI Trustee

Arnold Kopelson, Producer

Alan Ladd, Jr., Producer

Martin Landau, Actor

Lucy Liu, Actor

Barrie Lawson Loeks, Loeks-Star Theatres

Brian Lowry, Los Angeles Times

Sidney Lumet, Director

Shirley MacLaine, Actor

Delbert Mann, Director

Todd McCarthy, Variety

Kay McFadden, Seattle Sun-Times

Joyce Millman,

Dennis Muren, Digital Effects Artist

Chon Noriega, UCLA

Beverly O’Neill, California Institute of the Arts

Ted Perry, Middlebury College

Polly Platt, Production Designer/Producer

Dale Pollock, N.C. School of the Arts

Dorothy Rabinowitz, The Wall Street Journal

Peter Rainer, New York Magazine

Ken Ralston, Digital Effects Artist

Robert Richardson, Cinematographer

Howard Rosenberg, Los AngelesTimes

Laurence Rosenthal, Composer

Gena Rowlands, Actor

Leah Rozen, People Magazine

Eva Marie Saint, Actor

Edgar Scherick, Producer

Lisa Schwartzbaum, Entertainment Weekly

Jan Scott, Production Designer

John Singleton, Director/Writer/Producer

Robert Sklar, New York University

Barbara Smith, American Cinematheque

Penelope Spheeris, Director

Steven Spielberg, Dir./Producer/Writer/AFI Trustee

Rod Steiger, Actor

Jon Storm, Philadelphia Inquirer

Mary Sweeney, Editor/Producer/Writer

Richard Sylbert, Production Designer

Anne Thompson, Premiere

Robert Thompson, Syracuse University

Steve Tisch, Producer

Kenneth Turan, Los Angeles Times

Amy Vincent, Cinematographer

Joanne Weintraub, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel

Peter Werner, Director

Michael Wilmington, Chicago Tribune

Ethel Winant, Producer

David Wolper, Producer/AFI Trustee

Saul Zaentz, Producer

Eugenio Zanetti, Production Designer

Hans Zimmer, Composer

David Zurawik, Baltimore Sun

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety