Winners already getting calls for scripts

Scribes David Cowper and Marti Palmer shared UCLA Extension’s prestigious Diane Thomas Screenwriting Award for promising screenwriters last week.

An English teacher at Palomar and Mira Costa colleges, Cowper won the award for his script “The Untutored Soul.”

“Worker’s Paradise” is the first script for Palmer, a former “60 Minutes” producer. Both have been fielding calls for their scripts since winning the award.

James Patton took home second place for “Land Sharks” and Barbara Curry placed third for “The Intruder.”

Founded by Steven Spielberg in 1987, the Diane Thomas award is widely recognized as a resource for new talent. Sixty-three of the 140 winners have gone on to see their work produced.

— Lauren Horwitch

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0