WGAW panel nets Bass plus 7

Candidates waged cordial campaigns

HOLLYWOOD — Ron Bass got the top vote total among candidates elected to eight Writers Guild of America West board seats, with members opting mostly for incumbents.

Bass pulled in 814 votes, followed by David W. Rintels (723), Jeff Melvoin (713), Lisa Seidman (710), Carl Gottlieb (697), Joan Owens Meyerson (674), Dennis Feldman (660) and Michael Mahern (612). Each will serve two-year terms.

Bass, Feldman, Gottlieb, Melvoin and Rintels were incumbents, and Mahern was former secretary-treasurer and co-chair of last year’s film-TV contract negotiating team. A total of 1,346 ballots were cast.

Other candidates included Chris Abbott (576), Pam Veasey (477), Greg Strangis (428), Lee Goldberg (350), Luisa Leschin (349), Valerie Woods (275), Jeffrey Fiskin (244) and Dennis Leoni (204).


The 16 candidates waged cordial campaigns with no attacks on each other and an emphasis on commitment to the cause of advancing the interests of the 8,500 members. Several candidates stressed the need to prep for the next round of negotiations with a May 2004 contract expiration.

WGA East election results saw Walter Bernstein, Judy Crichton, Tom Fontana, Charlie Rubin, Budd Schulberg and Richard Wesley filling freelance slots. Burl Britt, Kate Miller, Andy Meppen and Laura Zaccaro won the staff seats.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Biz News from Variety