Wyland honored for lifetime achievement

Honoring technological innovation in the television industry, the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences has announced the recipients of the 2001 Primetime Emmy Engineering Awards.

Reserved for developments in engineering that materially affect the transmission, recording or reception of television, the Emmy Award winners include the Vari-Lite Virtuoso Console; Cast Lighting’s lighting software, WYSIWYG; da Vinci Systems’ Color Enhancement System; Pogle Platinum with MegaDef by Pandora Intl.; Panavision’s Primo Lens Series; Apple’s electronic interface, Fire Wire; and Clairmont Camera lenses. Receiving the Engineering Plaque is LenCin Pedestal by Chapman/Leonard Studio Equipment.

Gilbert P. Wyland, who oversaw the building of Television City and was behind the first telecast of the Olympic Games, will receive the Charles F. Jenkins Lifetime Achievement Award for 45 years of service at CBS.

Recipients will receive the awards at a ceremony Aug. 22 at ATAS’ Leonard H. Goldenson Theater.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0