Andrews, Cliburn, Jones, Nicholson, Pavarotti chosen

WASHINGTON — Actress Julie Andrews, pianist Van Cliburn, music producer-composer Quincy Jones, actor Jack Nicholson and tenor Luciano Pavarotti will be this year’s recipients of the Kennedy Center Honors.

The five were selected by the center’s board of trustees and will be saluted here at a December gala and other events. George Stevens Jr. and Don Mischer will co-produce the 24th edition of the annual honors gala, to be telecast by CBS.

The variety program, typically attended by the president and first lady, is the highlight of a weekend of festivities for honorees that include a White House reception and private awards banquet at the State Dept. hosted by the Secretary of State.

In unveiling this year’s honorees, Kennedy Center chairman James A. Johnson praised “a beloved actress whose performances in films and the musical theater are treasured by millions of Americans, a musician who has had a spectacular influence on all facets of American popular music for more than 50 years, one of the most brilliant and celebrated film actors of our age, a pianist whose stellar career bears witness to the life-affirming power of music, and a singer whose unique voice has attracted new fans to opera in the U.S. and throughout the world.”

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0