Winkler, Ritter to help bow Nat'l Broadway Theatre Awards

Henry Winkler and John Ritter will co-host the inaugural National Broadway Theatre Awards, honoring achievement in touring shows. Winners will be announced at the May 21 awards ceremony at the Supper Club in New York City.

Winkler and Ritter currently star in Neil Simon’s “The Dinner Party” on Broadway. Prior to their Gotham run, the two actors appeared in the play’s productions at the Mark Taper Forum in Los Angeles and the Kennedy Center in Washington, D.C.

The League of American Theatres & Producers, the national trade org for the Broadway industry, announced the creation of the awards celebration last month. Over 30 Broadway shows touring during the 2000-01 season are eligible, with the winners chosen by theatergoers who will cast email ballots at beginning April 1 for a three-week period.

Variety is the media sponsor for this event.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0