Tyro gets major pay for ‘Stay’

Benioff sells first spec script for supernatural sum

Outbidding five other offers, Regency has ponied up $1.8 million for spec script “Stay” from tyro scribe David Benioff.

High-profile spec has been fast-tracked by Regency. The mind-bending thriller centers on a psychologist at an Ivy League university and his attempt to prevent one of his students from committing suicide.

Former Warner Bros. exec Tom Lassally will produce the pic, which has been described as a supernatural thriller in the vein of “The Others” and “The Sixth Sense.” Lassally is also producing Regency’s “Fat Tuesday,” which he wrote with Peter Elkoff.

Regency senior production veep Kara Francis will oversee the project for prexy Sanford Panitch, who brought it into the studio.

“Stay” is the first spec from WMA-repped Benioff. He previously penned novel “The 25th Hour,” which he has adapted for Industry Entertainment. Tobey Maguire is attached to star and produce the pic, about 24 hours in the life of four young friends before one of them goes off to prison.

Deal for “Stay” was made by WMA and Industry Entertainment manager Guymon Casady and attorney Gretchen Bruggerman. (Michael Fleming contributed to this report.)

More Film

  • Peter Debruge Variety Best Films of

    Peter Debruge's 10 Best Films of 2017

    Outbidding five other offers, Regency has ponied up $1.8 million for spec script “Stay” from tyro scribe David Benioff. High-profile spec has been fast-tracked by Regency. The mind-bending thriller centers on a psychologist at an Ivy League university and his attempt to prevent one of his students from committing suicide. Former Warner Bros. exec Tom […]

  • Alexander Payne and Director of Photography

    Director Alexander Payne Shares 'Downsizing' Production Team's Sizable Contributions

    Outbidding five other offers, Regency has ponied up $1.8 million for spec script “Stay” from tyro scribe David Benioff. High-profile spec has been fast-tracked by Regency. The mind-bending thriller centers on a psychologist at an Ivy League university and his attempt to prevent one of his students from committing suicide. Former Warner Bros. exec Tom […]

  • Coco

    'Coco' Tops $400 Million at Worldwide Box Office

    Outbidding five other offers, Regency has ponied up $1.8 million for spec script “Stay” from tyro scribe David Benioff. High-profile spec has been fast-tracked by Regency. The mind-bending thriller centers on a psychologist at an Ivy League university and his attempt to prevent one of his students from committing suicide. Former Warner Bros. exec Tom […]

  • The 15:17 to Paris Trailer

    Watch American Heroes Portray Themselves in Trailer for Clint Eastwood's '15:17 to Paris'

    Outbidding five other offers, Regency has ponied up $1.8 million for spec script “Stay” from tyro scribe David Benioff. High-profile spec has been fast-tracked by Regency. The mind-bending thriller centers on a psychologist at an Ivy League university and his attempt to prevent one of his students from committing suicide. Former Warner Bros. exec Tom […]

  • Finn Wolfhard

    'Stranger Things' Actor Finn Wolfhard to Star in Haunted House Film 'The Turning' (EXCLUSIVE)

    Outbidding five other offers, Regency has ponied up $1.8 million for spec script “Stay” from tyro scribe David Benioff. High-profile spec has been fast-tracked by Regency. The mind-bending thriller centers on a psychologist at an Ivy League university and his attempt to prevent one of his students from committing suicide. Former Warner Bros. exec Tom […]

  • Owen Gleiberman Variety Best Films of

    Owen Gleiberman's 10 Best Films of 2017

    Outbidding five other offers, Regency has ponied up $1.8 million for spec script “Stay” from tyro scribe David Benioff. High-profile spec has been fast-tracked by Regency. The mind-bending thriller centers on a psychologist at an Ivy League university and his attempt to prevent one of his students from committing suicide. Former Warner Bros. exec Tom […]

  • Esport BAR conference : Brands &

    Reed Midem Expands Its eSports BAR Event For Third Edition

    Outbidding five other offers, Regency has ponied up $1.8 million for spec script “Stay” from tyro scribe David Benioff. High-profile spec has been fast-tracked by Regency. The mind-bending thriller centers on a psychologist at an Ivy League university and his attempt to prevent one of his students from committing suicide. Former Warner Bros. exec Tom […]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content