N.Y. film crix widen Circle

New members include Atkinson, D'Angelo, Stuart

The New York Film Critics Circle has admitted three new members and announced the dates for its awards celebrating the best film achievements of 2001.

New critics are Mike Atkinson of the Village Voice, Mike D’Angelo of Time Out New York and Jan Stuart of Newsday.

“The addition of our three new members, all outstanding critics, confirms the health of New York criticism and, for that matter, the health of New York,” said John Anderson, chief film critic of Newsday and chairman of the organization.

Voting on the honors will take place Dec. 13, with results to be announced immediately after the balloting. Winners will receive their awards at the Circle’s annual Awards Banquet, to be held Jan. 6 at the Russian Tea Room.

Marshall Fine of the Westchester Gannett was elected vice-chairman of the group, to succeed Anderson after the January awards ceremony.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety