Bergman tops Acad Foundation

Davis reupped to exec secretary

HOLLYWOOD — Alan Bergman has been elected prexy of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences’ Academy Foundation.

Bruce Davis was reupped as executive secretary.

Bergman, also music branch governor for AMPAS, steps in for former prexy Sid Ganis, who was not eligible after heading the Acad’s educational and cultural arm for the past three years. Gig marks Bergman’s fourth time at the helm; he previously served as topper for three straight terms, from 1992-95.

Re-elected to their VP posts were writers branch governor Fay Kanin and PR branch governor Marvin Levy. Music branch governor Arthur Hamilton was reupped as treasurer, and sound branch governor Don Hall will remain secretary.

Three frosh foundation trustees, elected by the Acad’s board of governors, will join the returning 13 trustees. They are Dede Allen (film editors branch), Charles Bernstein (music branch) and Mark Johnson (producers branch).

Remaining on as trustees are Bergman, Hall, Kanin, Levy and Hamilton; John Frankenheimer (directors branch); Samuel Goldwyn Jr. (producers); Conrad Hall (cinematographers); Roger L. Mayer, Robert Rehme and Lew R. Wasserman (executives); Frank R. Pierson (writers); and Donald C. Rogers (sound).

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety