B’cast crix celebrate ‘Contender’

Pakula nod given previously to 'A Civil Action,' 'Insider'

Writer-director Rod Lurie’s “The Contender” will receive this year’s Alan J. Pakula Award, the Broadcast Film Critics Assn.’s highest honor, at the sixth annual Critics’ Choice luncheon Jan. 22 at the Beverly Hills Hotel.

The award, first presented in 1998, is given annually by the BFCA “for artistic excellence while illuminating issues of great social and political importance.”

“‘The Contender’ is as astute an examination of our current political climate as we have seen in the cinema in recent years,” the BFCA board of directors said. “It serves to both entertain audiences and educate the nation about its political failings.”

Lurie and cast members Joan Allen, Jeff Bridges, Sam Elliott and Christian Slater will receive awards.

Previous winners of the Pakula laurel, named after the late director, are “A Civil Action” and “The Insider.”

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety