Winning foreign filmmaker to be named in May

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences has tapped five finalists in the Honorary Foreign Film category for its annual Student Academy Awards.

The winning filmmaker will be flown to L.A. to participate in a week of film industry-related activities and social events, culminating in the Student Academy Awards presentation on June 10 in BevHills.

Finalists are Hanro Smitsman (“Achmed Was Here”), Netherlands; Magnat Julien (“The All-New Adventures of Chastity Blade”), France; Rodrigo Pla (“The Eye on the Nape”), Mexico; Yohannes Weiland (“Hessi James”), Germany; and Slawomin Fabicki (“A Man Thing”), Poland.

The five were selected from a pool of 27 submissions from 23 countries.

The films will be screened and voted upon by members of the Academy. The winner will be announced in May.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0