Acad names Nicholls winners

Winning scripts chosen from group of 11 finalists

HOLLYWOOD — The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has selected five 2001 Don and Gee Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwriting recipients, pooled from more than 5,500 initial applicants.

The chosen five are Patricia Burroughs (“Redemption”), Greg M. Dawless (“One Hour Development”), Robert S. Edwards (“Land of the Blind”), Albert Letizia (“The Northern Lights”) and Cameron B. Young (“Saint Vincent”).

Each will receive the first installment of the accompanying $30,000 prize at a dinner in Beverly Hills Nov. 15, during which screenwriter Stephen Gaghan (“Traffic”) will deliver the keynote address.

The winning scripts were chosen from a group of 11 finalists.

Final judging of the competition was conducted by the Nicholl Committee, chaired by writer Fay Kanin and comprised of writers John Gay, Susannah Grant, Hal Kanter, Dan Petrie Jr., Tom Rickman and Dan Taradash; cinematographer John Bailey; editor Mia Goldman; thesp Eva Marie Saint; producers Gale Anne Hurd (who serves as committee vice-chair), David Nicksay, Peter Samuelson and Buffy Shutt; and agent Ronald Mardigian.

Fellowships are awarded with the understanding that the recipients will each complete a feature-length screenplay during the fellowship year.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety