' '70s,' 'Bette,' 'X-Files' take home TV nods

“Gladiator” and “Chocolat” took top honors Saturday at the Art Directors Guild’s fifth annual Excellence in Production Design Awards, where special honors were presented to Clint Eastwood and production designer Jan Scott.

Framed by a suitably bold and beautiful set, George Segal emceed the event at the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

“Gladiator’s” Arthur Max won in the category of feature film (period or fantasy), while David Gropman took home the award for feature film (contemporary) for “Chocolat.”

Actor-director Eastwood was feted with an award for his contribution to cinematic imagery. He has starred in 43 films, directed 22 and produced 11, including 1993 Academy Award best pic winner “Unforgiven.”

“Clint’s legacy to our culture… is to make visual the attitudes and values of the cowboy, the noble and heroic defender of justice,” fellow “Space Cowboy” James Garner said.

Production designer Jan Scott, winner of 11 Emmys, was honored with the Art Directors Guild’s lifetime achievement award.

John T. Walker’s “The ’70s” won for television movie or miniseries.

Bob Keene was feted in the category of variety or awards show, musical special or documentary for his work on the “72nd Annual Academy Awards.”

The award for television series (multicamera) went to Bernard Vyzga for the pilot episode of “Bette.” Corey Kaplan and “The X-Files” took home the award for television series (single camera) for the episode “Without.”

Presenters included Bruce Greenwood, Michael Baugh, Sean Young, Henry Bumstead, James Cromwell and Kathy Bates. Edward Herrmann and Garner gave special tributes.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0