Rubin to host video awards

Video Premiere Awards to be Oct. 23 in H'wood

TV entertainment news personality Sam Rubin will host the 2001 Video Premiere Awards presented by Variety sister publication Video Business on Oct. 23 at the El Capitan Theater in Hollywood. MCA Nashville 18 year-old recording artist Alecia Elliott will perform her nominated song “If You Believe” from “Prancer Returns” along with Shawn King and Clark Anderson, who will perform their nominated songs “Beautiful Like Me” and “Beyond the Stars,” respectively, from “Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer & the Island of Misfit Toys.”

Rubin, who is part of the team on “KTLA Morning News,” is the entertainment reporter for KNX-AM in Los Angeles and is a talkshow host for KLSX-FM.

The Video Premiere Awards, the first to recognize the creative achievements in the rapidly growing $1.2 billion market of movies made for video as well as original programming for special DVD and VHS editions of theatrical releases, will have more than 20 celebrity presenters at the show.

Among the presenters who are Video Premiere Award acting nominees are Fred Ward (“The Crimson Code”), Penelope Ann Miller (“Full Disclosure”), Michael Gross (“Tremors 3: Back to Perfection”), Beth Kennedy (“The Tomorrow Man”) and Portia Realer (“Keepin’ It Real”).

In addition to the 125 judges from the Video Premieres Academy made up of actors, directors, writers, editors, composers and other members of the creative community, a Blue Ribbon panel from the Intl. Cinematographers Guild judged the best cinematography category and participated in several others.

Other actors presenting awards include Coolio (“Phat Beach” and this year’s “Get Over It”), Tracy Scoggins (“A Crack in the Floor”), Dave Thomas (“SCTV”), David Naughton (“An American Werewolf in London” new on DVD), Marissa Ribisi (“100 Girls,” “Pleasantville,”), Sasha Alexander (“Dawson’s Creek,” “All Over the Guy”), Taylor Nichols (“Jurassic Park III,” HBO’s “Mind of the Married Man”), Tim Thomerson (“The Crimson Code”), Morgan Rusler (“The Tomorrow Man”), and Steve Railsback (“The Stunt Man” and the recent “Ed Gein”).

Winners of Video Premiere Awards for 2000 who will be presenting awards to this year’s winners include documentary and DVD producers Laurent Bouzereau (“All About the Birds”) and Van Ling (“The Abyss Special Edition”), composer Richard Gibbs (“The Book of Stars”), and Jamison Goei (“Hellraiser: Inferno”). Bouzereau, Ling and Goei are also nominated for awards this year for “Rear Window Ethics…,” “Star Wars: Episode One – The Phantom Menace” and “Mimic 2,” respectively.

Other nominees this year will also be presenting awards, such as writer/director Doug Campbell (“The Tomorrow Man”), writer David O. Davis (“Keepin’ It Real”), editor Kirk Morri (“Mimic 2”), and cinematographer Garet Griffin (“The Riff”).

More than $100,000, representing half of all full sponsorships of the show, along with 50% of all ticket sales is being donated to the Sept. 11 Relief Fund.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Digital News from Variety