Writers Guild East re-elects Sargent

TV comedy writer-producer wins sixth term

Writers Guild of America East prexy Herb Sargent has won a sixth two-year term as top elected official of the 4,000-member org.

The television comedy writer-producer has headed the Gotham-based WGAE since 1991. He topped WGAE VP Richard Wesley, who heads the org’s Committee for an Informed Membership, and veteran ABC news scribe Ron Baskin, a member of the WGAE Council.

Balloting for the election had been extended two weeks until Thursday due to the Sept. 11 terrorist attacks.

Broadway playwright Warren Leight won the contest for VP, topping veteran TV news writer and former WGAE veep Adrian (Andy) Meppen and CBS promotions department scribe Kate Miller. CBS News vet Gail Lee was re-elected to a third term as secretary-treasurer, topping CBS radio news writer Matt Nelko.

The half dozen top vote-getters out of 15 for freelance member council seats were former WGAE VP James Coopersmith; Penelope Koechl; Claire Labine; Stephen Schiff; Michael Weller; and council member Donald Westlake.

Baskin, Nelko and public TV writer Cath Twohill won the slots among six candidates for staff member council seats.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Biz News from Variety