Scribe to receive Morgan Cox Award at kudos ceremony March 4

Ex-Writers Guild of America West president George Kirgo, who led the union during the 1988 strike, will receive the union’s Morgan Cox Award for service.

Kirgo, who has been a screen and TV writer since 1954, served as prexy of the WGA West between 1987 and 1991. He has been VP of the Writers Guild Foundation since 1995.

The honor will be presented at the Guild’s 53rd awards ceremony on March 4. Past recipients include Irma Kalish, Alfred L. and Helen Levitt, Ann Marcus, Del Reisman, Allen Rivkin, Melville Shavelson and Leonard Spigelgass.

“Over the years, he has devoted himself tirelessly to the Guild and the interests of its members,” current WGA West prexy John Wells said. “He is a real treasure to our guild, and we are pleased to honor him at this time.”

Kirgo has produced the awards show for the past three years and was on its writing staff from 1979 to 1998. He has been on the WGA’s Blacklist Credits Committee since 1996 and participated in the executive director search in 1998.

Feature credits include “Red Line 7000″ (co-written with Howard Hawks), “Spinout” (co-written with Theodore J. Flicker), “Don’t Make Waves” and “Voices.” TV movie credits include “The Man in the Santa Claus Suit,” “Angel on My Shoulder” and “The Kid With the Broken Halo.” Episodic TV credits include “Room 222,” “Love, American Style,” “My Mother the Car,” “Adam’s Rib” and “The Governor and JJ.”

Follow @Variety on Twitter for breaking news, reviews and more