SAG OKs 28 candidates to run in election

Results to be announced November 5

A total of 28 candidates have been approved to run for 18 offices in the Screen Actors Guild’s upcoming elections in Gotham.

The election will take place during the last three weeks of October with results announced Nov. 5. Due to last week’s terrorist attacks, the original Sept. 12 deadline for submitting petitions was extended to this week.

The contest pits a faction led by current New York prexy Lisa Scarola, who ran last year as Clean Slate, against those headed by 4th National VP Eileen Henry, a leader of last year’s Save SAG slate and one of the leading opponents of SAG prexy William Daniels.

Scarola’s forces are running board member Mitch Green for New York president and 2nd National VP against Henry, who was cleared to run in July by the local nominating committee. Scarola’s side contested last fall’s election, alleging ballot stuffing and staff involvement; a SAG investigation upheld the results, leading to an appeal to the Natl. Labor Relations Board.

Paul Christie will run against Michael Carbonella for 4th National VP; Scarola, who has opposed associate national exec director John McGuire on a number of key issues, will run for 10th VP against board member Tony Roberts, who has endorsed Valerie Harper to succeed Daniels. Scarola has endorsed independent Eugene Boggs for national president, citing his background as a lawyer and his knowledge of boardroom procedure.

Charles Gemmill, Skip Hinnant and Marilyn Miller will run for 12th National VP.

There are 18 candidates for eight national board slots: Yaffa Amato-Sharir, Ayelet, Avis Boone, Maureen Donnelly, Bobby Fincher, Nathaniel Freeman, Charles Gemmill, Eileen Henry, Mike Hodge, Timothy Klein, Gerald Kline, Marilyn Miller, Jay Potter, KJ Sanchez, Lisa Scarola, Joseph R. Sicari, Cynthia Vance and Liz Zazzi.

For New York local offices, candidates are Paul Christie and Charles Gemmill for 1st VP; Jack Landron and Lisa Scarola for 2nd VP; Cynthia Vance and Yaffa Amato-Sharir for 3rd VP; Nathaniel Freeman and Francisco Rivela for 4th VP; Mark Stone and Skip Sudduth for record secretary and Maureen Donnelly and Michael Carbonella for treasurer.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Biz News from Variety