Laureus lauds sports stars

Freeman, Woods take top sports nods

See full winners list

MONTE CARLO — The second annual Laureus World Sports Awards were presented Tuesday at a smooth and glitzy ceremony in Monaco’s Grimaldi Forum. The kudocast airs Sunday on NBC at 4 p.m. EDT.

Nominees were selected through a poll of 300 journalists in 75 countries, and the winners were chosen by the 42 members of the Laureus World Sports Academy, chaired by U.S. Olympian Ed Moses .

Emcee Gregory Hines and presenters Michael Douglas, Catherine Zeta-Jones and Marcia Gay Harden brought a Hollywood flavor to the proceedings.

Australia’s 400-meter Olympic champion Cathy Freeman was on hand to take the Sportswoman of the Year trophy, but Tiger Woods accepted his Sportsman of the Year Laureus via video.

U.S. tennis star Jennifer Capriati won the Comeback of the Year award. and Russia’s U.S. Open winner Marat Safin was voted Newcomer of the Year. France’s men’s soccer squad took Team of the Year kudos and Britain’s five-time Olympic gold medalist, rowing ace Steven Redgrave, brought the audience to its feet when receiving his Laureus for lifetime achievement.

Biggest ovation of the evening went to Australian paraplegic sailor Vinny Lauwers who accepted the Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability award.

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Biz News from Variety