Oscar winner named to national board three months ago

HOLLYWOOD — Taking a seemingly stealth approach to internal matters, the Screen Actors Guild has let three months go by without announcing that its directors have named Academy Award winner Richard Dreyfuss to SAG’s national board.

SAG spokesman Greg Krizman said the lack of disclosure about the appointment of Dreyfuss — the only Oscar winner (best actor for 1977’s “The Goodbye Girl”) among SAG’s 105 board members — was an oversight by the guild’s communication department.

Dreyfuss, filling the post vacated by Todd Susman to rep the General Membership/Hollywood branch, was active last year in supporting SAG’s strike against advertisers. He was selected in April by SAG prexy William Daniels to co-chair with Kevin Spacey a committee to track California state legislative hearings on rules governing agents and managers.

The naming of Dreyfuss goes along with Daniels’ efforts last fall to persuade high-profile members to run for the board, resulting in the election of Tom Bosley, Melissa Gilbert, Elliott Gould, Valerie Harper, Sally Kirkland, Joe Pantoliano, Fred Savage and Wil Wheaton.

Dreyfuss’ term on the board will expire in November. He is set to star in CBS’ “The Education of Max Bickford” this fall.

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0